Garlic and Basil Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Incredible fresh flavor, but I do grow my own basil. I used that, sea salt and fresh cracked pepper corns. I found it is awesome on chicken too, especially if you add two tablespoons each of minced onion and red sweet pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KBT24
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
My husband loved this dressing. It does have a strong flavor and would be best on salads with meat. I was making a salad that would have garlic chicken on top so I wanted something that might that some similar flavors. I didn't have fresh basil so I used dried. I also didn't bother chopping fresh garlic and instead used garlic powder. I didn't like the taste of it so I added sugar and lemon juice. After these additions, it was better. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBT24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
DELISH!! Perfect with a big Italian salad. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was fabulous. I had a ton of leftover basil, so I doubled this recipe and I added a handful of arugula as well. I dumped all of the ingredients in my food processor, rather than a blender. I have tossed this dressing with pasta and quinoa for quick salads. I'm sure I will continue to make this/versions of this for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUCCI013

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I made this with homegrown basil and it was excellent. Both my husband and I loved it! I'll make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, New York, USA
Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This is an EXCELLENT salad dressing, but it IS very thick. As I was pouring it into a 'Good Seasons' bottle, I took a cue from that tried and true recipe and added a bit of water. Just 2T was enough to make it smoother, but still hearty enough to cling to the greens. I look forward to trying it on pasta. Also, taste before salting. I opted to completely leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Okay I really hate to give a recipe a bad review espically if we just didn't care for the "outcome" of a recipe. This dressing is very thick, and very strong. It really over powers the flavors of the salad. Not what I expected from a vinaigrette. But with that being said I am going to give it a higher rating because it is awesome on grilled chicken and pasta. I didn't want to throw it away so I mixed it in with some left over pasta, grilled chicken, and parmeasean cheese. It tasted almost like pesto but lower in calories and fat. So give it a try on your pasta and skip in it as a salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Almost a pesto dressing. My husband loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Very good, I added about 1/4 cup of brown sugar, to cut the vinegar a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidij

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Great recipe! Didn't adjust a thing. I can't wait till lunch tomorrow!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ramon, California, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

How to Roast Garlic

Roast garlic in four easy steps for flavorful mashers, dips, and garlic toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States