Garlic and Artichoke Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
O.k. as is, but to me it's way better when using a white sauce (olive oil w/ minced garlic, warmed in microwave to infuse the oil) or a pesto sauce. We also like it with a stronger cheese like romano mixed w/ mozzerella. Fresh basil is really good on this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
This was delicious! I used a whole-wheat Boboli thin pizza crust, and instead of spaghetti sauce I just used plain tomato sauce sprinkled with Italian seasoning and parmesan cheece. The artichoke hearts were sooo good cooked with the garlic. I had some Gouda cheese that I had to use, so I used that instead of Colby. This was the best pizza I've ever made! I think next time I will double the garlic. Oh, and I definitely didn't use that much cheese! Maybe 1.5 cups of shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Would be 5 star I think if used different cheese. Perhaps mozzerella and some feta? Great if you are a fan of veggie pizza. Made some modifications: added about half of red bell pepper to the garlic/artichoke saute, and this really helped on issue of excess liquid that many reviews commented on. Also, added fresh basil during about the last 3 minutes of cooking -- really adds to flavor. Used Boboli pizza crust and sauce -- good choice. Boboli crust instructions said to only cook for 10 minutes, whereas the recipe said 20. Took out after 10, but flavors weren't quite there yet. Put back in for about another 10, and it was much better, and crust held up fine to the extra 10 minutes of cooking. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pdizzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cole Camp, Missouri, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This pizza tasted really good for the first time that I made it with a good cheesy texture and delicious artichokes that make it worthwhile eating for one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheerios

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Pizza is pizza. I've even put clams and oysters on pizza. I made this one years ago. Just thought I would share some tips. There is a conversion chart, somewhere, that shows how to mix tomatoe paste and make it into sauce, juice and catsup. So, I never spend my money on premade sauces. Whenever I use a sauce for pizza, I always mix in some oregano and some dried red pepper flakes. It gives the taste of NYC to your pizza. I also like to add salt, but only to veggie only pizzas, and have even put olive oil on others, under the cheese, not too much, to give it that nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Unkie Stew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is delicious! I put way more garlic on it than this calls for. I get the garlic pre-roasted from my grocery store's olive bar, that way there is no fuss, no muss. If I don't have those handy, I roast a whole garlic - cut the tops off and put a bit of olive oil over it and roast for about 40 minutes. Perfect for a lot of different dishes. On this recipe, I use the Boboli ready-made crust and it's perfect. The whole thing from start to finish takes about 15-20 minutes. I also add some fresh (dried would work as well) basil. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
We thought this was good, but seemed to be lacking something. Maybe adding chicken, as one reviewer suggested, would help. We use our own pizza crust recipe, so we altered it a little according to how we always cook pizza. I put the sauce, tomatoes and artichokes first. We cook it for about 15 minutes then add the cheese and cook for about 10 more minutes. This keeps the cheese from burning. Next time I wouldn't bother with cooking the artichoke liquid with the garlic. I used pre-chopped garlic and would just add both of them to the pizza. I didn't see much value in cooking the garlic in the artichoke liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
This was fabulous! I used a blend of Italian cheese instead of the Colby Jack, Roma tomatos and sprinkled it with parmesan cheese before baking. I made a 12" pizza, and 1 - 8 oz. package of cheese was more than enough. Next time I'm going to add Feta cheese. Excellent! Thank you so much, this recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This is a tasty pizza and went very well with some left-over Bodacious Broccoli Salad from this site that I served it with. But I'm one of those who don't see the point of the simmering liquid part. It makes it more time consuming, dirties a pot and is actually quite strange taste-wise. It gave the pizza a wierd, oily, preservetive-y taste that I really disliked. Luckily, I didn't have the patience to wait until the liquid thickened and poured most of it down the drain before adding. I think that rescued the meal. Next time I'll save the time and effort and put everything straight on the pizza. Otherwise good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Made this pizza with a homemade, whole grain crust, 2 extra tomatoes, and a mix of cheddar and mozzerella cheese. 450F is too hot for this length of time so I turned it down to 400F after the first 10 minutes. It took about an extra 10-15 minutes to cook, make sure the crust is browning on the bottom. My oven temperature is correct, you can check it easily with an oven thermometer. My meat loving husband wasn't expecting to like it but he's already asked for me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States