Garden Tuna Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Loved it with cucumber! Never tried that before. Still not willing to try carrots. Being a guy, I never follow directions so I just put a dash of mustard and substituted the sour cream with horseraddish. Otherwise my only addition was jalepenos, which go on everything:) and melted cheese on the bread. I can't stop eating them! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hornell, New York, USA
Living In: Franktown, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
If you make this be aware that the mustard and mayo is way too much for the ingredients listed here. I even halved the mustard amount and mayo and it was still too much. I had to add more veggies and another two cans of tuna to save this. Mix your veggies and tuna and then add the mayo and mustard to your taste and the consistency you like your tuna salad to be. I almost think the amounts are a mistake on this recipe. I gave three stars for the idea of the veggies mixed in with tuna...just don't use the measurements listed here for the mustard and mayo. I am going to make again, but will just start with a tablespoon of mustard and then taste. My salad was yellow and that was halving the mustard, mayo, and tripling the tuna, and more of the vegetables. Sorry I hate to give a low rating, but I was lucky to have more tuna in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
As is, there's not enough meat. The flavors are there, the proportions are wrong. I'd cut down on the mayo and dijon (VERY strong dijon taste) or increase the meat. Probably both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Lutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Much to watery i made a double batch didn't put in any cream cheese and only half the cucumber and half the lemon juice. and tasted it, added a third can of tuna and was still disappointed in the lack of tuna flavor in the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brelax27

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I had some leftover chicken, so used that instead of Tuna. Can't call it Tuna Sandwich, but followed the rest of the recipe except for the bread. i used rolls. Never would have thought to put cucumbers and carrots in and I was very pleased with the results. Make a big hardy sandwich and my husband liked it very much. Next time I will use tuna. A great way to use leftover chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Waaaaaaaay too much mustard! Should have put a little at a time until it had enuf for for our tastes. Didn't add the carrots but sub with finely sliced celery. It's ok but probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Never had cucumber or sour cream in my tuna sandwich but they both worked great! I used a swirl rye bread from whole foods. I did not peel my cucumber either and it didn't bother me one bit! Great little sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Overall I like the concept, but the amount of veggies was a bit much. I really wanted a tuna salad sandwich with some veggies not the other way around so I cut way back on the amounts, just eyeballing what I threw in to the mix. I used light mayo and only 1 tsp. of dijon and 2 tsp. of light sour cream. I added some garlic powder along with some salt and pepper and left out the lemon juice. I toasted some whole grain bread and topped the tuna salad with some thin sliced tomato and crisp lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I added a little more mayonnaise only because I'm out of sour cream right now and we like a little "wetter" tuna sandwich. I also added little bit of onion powder, garlic powder, and dill weed. Both my oldest son and I liked this quite a bit but my youngest didn't care for it. Great way to stretch a can of tuna, clean out our fridge a bit and get a couple more vegetables in our diet. Next time, I might cut back just a bit on the dijon. For us, it was a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This was a great tuna sandwich! I did modify it a bit and it turned out delicious. Instead of 2/3 cup cucumber I did 1/3 cup and added 1/3 cup celery, 1/2 cup red bell pepper, I also left out the carrot. I also added a can of tuna and a little more mayo and sour cream until it was a good consistency. It turned out great with a nice crunch and the added nutrients of the other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States