Garden Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Instead of the canned tomatoes, I made this with a can of stewed tomatoes, a can of tomato puree and some chicken stock to keep the sodium level down. I sauteed the onions and zucchini in olive oil and added oregano flakes. I added NO additional salt, just a dash of sugar. I also added some asian rice noodles as I am gluten sensitive. It was wonderful. Sprinkled grated parmesan cheese to top it off. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
As written I found this to be just OK and more like the base for a pasta sauce than soup so I tinkered a bit and added 2 stalks of celery and 1 carrot, both diced and sautéed until softened. It still wasn't I wanted so in went 2 cloves of garlic, minced. Now the flavor was where I wanted it, but it was much too thick so I added about 2 cups of chicken stock. With my changes it came up to about 4.5 stars. I'd need to tinker with the spices to get to a sold 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Wasn't overly fussy with this soup, but I have had worse. Probably won't make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I actually did not add mushrooms and opted to not puree the tomatoes and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This is a very flavorful soup. Would also be excellent with pasta noodles added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
The salt has been changed from 2 tablespoons to 2 teaspoons at the submitter's request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Man! That was good! I changed a few things though. First I read the reviews so I knew to reduce to salt to less than a tbsp. I put 1/2 tsp. Perfect! Then I added 1 lb of ground meat. Last, instead of vegtable oil, I used olive oil. My picky 7 year old even liked so much, he asked me to make it again. Only next time, I'm going to shred the zuchinni so that maybe I can get our 3 year old other picky eater to eat it. All in all, this hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Vandenberg Afb, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
I think it would be okay except for the EXCESSIVE salt, which overpowers everything else. I too only used 1T, but it was still too much. I think you need to correct this. Not everyone reads the reviews before trying a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy9216

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Must be a typo. I cannot imagine putting 2T of salt in a soup of this size. I put in 1T and it still tastes pretty salty to me. Otherwise the flavor is decent, but nothing to write home about... or make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
Great flavour. I would add less salt though, as it was very powerful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States