Garden Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
As is, this recipe is pretty basic. It's a good launching point. When I went to the Farmer's Market with this recipe in hand, I didn't stop with the required ingredients. I used green pepper, but also yellow, red, and purple. Each has it's own flavor, so it brings an incredible blend to the salsa. Also, I didn't use pickled jalapenos. I used fresh. It had some kick, that's for sure! I used apple cider vinegar instead of red wine. AND, I added more cilantro (it's one of my favorites). That's the glory of salsa......it's an empty canvas waiting for an explosion of taste and color!!! My mother in law (who is Mexican and can make INCREDIBLE salsa) was even impressed - a rarity :-) I will refer to this recipe in the future, but I recommend using this as a springboard for creativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Very good salsa. Have made it twice now. I modified the recipe slightly though. I have no red wine vinegar so used balsamic instead. I used lemon instead of lime and a red onion instead of white. I added 2 bay leaves, 3 cloves crushed garlic, 1 tsp ground corriander, 1 tsp ground cumin, 1 habanero pepper instead of the jalapenos and more salt to taste. I omitted the cilantro as my fruit and veg store was out, but I would normally use it. The one habanero is plenty to make this quite hot. Will maybe use 2 next time to make it extra hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
very colorful and refreshing. I didn't use food processor for tomatoes, as I like a less 'soupy' salsa, so I squeeze the juice and seeds out and dice. Used red onion, and had to add 3 cloves of minced garlic. Used balsamic vinegar for the sweet mild flavor. Added the zest from the half of the small lime I had and complimented the flavors nicely. Thanks for this nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
We really enjoyed this salsa. The only ingredients that we put in the food processor were the tomatoes and cilantro (just minced the rest). We also added 2 garlic cloves (how can you make salsa with no garlic?!) and fresh jalepeno instead of pickled. We used one fresh but two would have been better. We served the salsa over homeade pita chips (cut pitas into six wedges with a pizza cutter, then separate and brush with oil, salt, pepper, and garlic powder and bake at 450 until browned). Incredible meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This is delicious. I seeded and squeezed the tomatoes before chopping them but as they sit there is more liquid they sit in. I drain that before adding other ingredients so the flavor is not sitting at the bottom of a bowl of salsa. Everyone loves fresh salsa and its healthy and low calorie. The cilantro makes a huge difference do not substitute that ingredient
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was my first attempt at making salsa, we loved it! The only change I made was using balsamic vinegar. Very good and I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I would have enjoyed this more without all the cilantro - it just kills the taste of everything else. Next time I'm either going to drastically reduce the ammount or I will forgo the cilantro alltogether. Seriously, it was harsh. The rest of the recipe was excellent. Everything was fresh & delish. Extremely easy to prepare & any leftovers can be used for chicken, fish, blah blah blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
This was exactly the recipe I was looking for to make homemade salsa with the tomatoes I grow in my garden! I added minced garlic and kosher salt for a little more flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I made this in the morning, so the flavors would really have a chance to blend for dinner. DH & I broke into it at 10am! It's very good. I used organic tomatoes from our food co-op, tripled the jalapenos (love the idea of using pickled jalapenos; never tried that before!), added a fresh garlic clove, 1/4tsp extra salt, & extra cilantro 'cause we love it! Great salsa, Valerie! :-) Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Tasty, I've made this a few times with and without the blender and it tastes great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lukafoo74

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Westchester, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States