Garden Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
As is, this recipe is pretty basic. It's a good launching point. When I went to the Farmer's Market with this recipe in hand, I didn't stop with the required ingredients. I used green pepper, but also yellow, red, and purple. Each has it's own flavor, so it brings an incredible blend to the salsa. Also, I didn't use pickled jalapenos. I used fresh. It had some kick, that's for sure! I used apple cider vinegar instead of red wine. AND, I added more cilantro (it's one of my favorites). That's the glory of salsa......it's an empty canvas waiting for an explosion of taste and color!!! My mother in law (who is Mexican and can make INCREDIBLE salsa) was even impressed - a rarity :-) I will refer to this recipe in the future, but I recommend using this as a springboard for creativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I skipped the green pepper and added a small can of chopped green chili and a little garlic. Delicious and so easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Taylor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I made this for a family labor day picnic, and it was a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
First time making homemade salsa. Made it a few times b/c we had lots of tomatoes. First batch used cider vineger. Second batch used red wine vinegar. Prefer Cider vinegar. Neighbours loved it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Great recipe! I added garlic as we are garlic lovers. Other than that stuck to the recipe and it was great. I used it with Salsafied Chicken and Rice (on this website.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
My family enjoyed this recipe. I used both red and yellow tomatoes, cut down on the cilantro (not my personal favorite), added chopped fresh garlic and increased the amount of tomatoes and lime juice. Thanks for sumbitting this recipe! It is a great way to use up all those extra garden tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
Good salsa. Did add garlic and a bit more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galesburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moberly, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
This salsa is a lot like some expensive salsas made by a local mexican place and sold in local stores. Very very good. I'd suggest that you let it sit a day before you eat it to give all the flavors time to mature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
A quick and easy salsa...I used a hand mixer to chop up all the ingredients. Beware of the jalapenos, especially if you buy fresh ones like we did. The seeds are the hottest part of the pepper, so if you want more kick, leave in a few seeds. But beware! Avoid touching your eyes and face after touching the pepper. My husband wiped his brow hours later (even after washing his hands) and his face burned up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
This was good. I did add some chopped garlic and used fresh jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States