Garden Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I made this in the morning, so the flavors would really have a chance to blend for dinner. DH & I broke into it at 10am! It's very good. I used organic tomatoes from our food co-op, tripled the jalapenos (love the idea of using pickled jalapenos; never tried that before!), added a fresh garlic clove, 1/4tsp extra salt, & extra cilantro 'cause we love it! Great salsa, Valerie! :-) Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This is a very good mild salsa. I used farm stand roma tomatoes, 1/2 fresh jalepeno pepper diced small and extra cilantro. My family could eat the whole bowl in one sitting if I let them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I made this last summer and gave someaway at Christmas time. The best! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
As Rachael would say, Yum-O!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Slone

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I use to use salsa packets that have the spices all ready for you, but I wanted to try something different. I didn't have to look for long. This recipe is amazing!! You don't even need to add the olive oil or vinegar if you don't have them on hand. I have also added yellow bell peppers and fresh jalepenos instead of pickled ones. Amazing Salsa!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Very good salsa. Have made it twice now. I modified the recipe slightly though. I have no red wine vinegar so used balsamic instead. I used lemon instead of lime and a red onion instead of white. I added 2 bay leaves, 3 cloves crushed garlic, 1 tsp ground corriander, 1 tsp ground cumin, 1 habanero pepper instead of the jalapenos and more salt to taste. I omitted the cilantro as my fruit and veg store was out, but I would normally use it. The one habanero is plenty to make this quite hot. Will maybe use 2 next time to make it extra hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Love it! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
A big hit! Easy to make and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I used canned green chiles instead of bell peppers, lemon juice instead of a lime (all I had, and balsamic vinegar instead of red wine, dried cilantro leaves, and a pinch of sugar. Although the salsa is excellent as I made it, next time I will get the ingredients to follow the recipe exactly. Great recipe and one that I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
As is, this recipe is pretty basic. It's a good launching point. When I went to the Farmer's Market with this recipe in hand, I didn't stop with the required ingredients. I used green pepper, but also yellow, red, and purple. Each has it's own flavor, so it brings an incredible blend to the salsa. Also, I didn't use pickled jalapenos. I used fresh. It had some kick, that's for sure! I used apple cider vinegar instead of red wine. AND, I added more cilantro (it's one of my favorites). That's the glory of salsa......it's an empty canvas waiting for an explosion of taste and color!!! My mother in law (who is Mexican and can make INCREDIBLE salsa) was even impressed - a rarity :-) I will refer to this recipe in the future, but I recommend using this as a springboard for creativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States