Garden Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
This was a very good and fresh tasting salsa! I used a red pepper because that is what I had on hand, but I think a green pepper would have been better both visually and taste wise. I upped the amounts of both garlic and pickled peppers to account for our taste. I will definitely make this again; it complimented my husband's famous margaritas perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This is very similar to how I make my salsa, (minus the bell pepper). As a twist and to give it a sweeter flavor I take all the pepper, 1/4 of the cut up tomatoes and 2-3 cloves chopped garlic and broil them about 5-10min. before adding to the rest of it. Really makes a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This was exactly what I was looking for to use up some or our garden tomatoes. I made this to go with tonight's taco soup, chips and guacamole. My hubby and I thought it had a wonderful flavor. I bet it will taste even better tomorrow after the flavors blend more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I used 6 tomatoes but took the juice and pulp out of 3 before adding them to the food processor, subbed 2 jalapenos for the pickled slices (NOTE TO SELF--wear gloves next time...jalapeno oil burns like heck!), added extra cilantro, garlic, sea salt and a bit of tapatio hot sauce. MMMMMMMM! This stuff was super yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I used red tomatoes and yellow variety tomatoes. I also used half of a deseeded jalopeno since I'm breastfeeding (I dont want it hot). I also subsituted garlic salt for salt but I think next time I will stick to the recipe and use salt because the garlic salt wasn't enough. I will also add minced garlic nextime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I love this salsa so much I make it by hand. I find it is a simple fresh salsa that showcases fresh tomatoes beautifully. Several other people who hate cilantro loved this salsa. I eat this salsa on pizza, toast, salad, wraps, baked potatoes, chicken, and with chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KM
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was a good, basic recipe for salsa. It was missing something to me?? Possibly needs more vinegar and salt...??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was my first attempt at making salsa, we loved it! The only change I made was using balsamic vinegar. Very good and I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I had never heard of using red wine vinegar in salsa (at least in the recipes on this site) but it really makes this recipe work! I used extra jarred hot jalapeno slices since that's all I had on hand. Great salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Delish! It's Nov 23 & we still have jalapenos growing that we need to do something with before the frost. I used more cilantro, garden fresh habanero, jalapeno & serrano, a whole lime & several T's of garlic. Put it all in the food processor and it's wonderful! Full of flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States