Garden Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
EXCELLENT! The only changes I made were to use mild peppers in place of jalapeno and skip the lime as I didn't have any. I will be sure to have it on hand the next time as I feel it will enhance the flavor. Thank you Valerie's Kitchen for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Pretty good....definitely needs garlic and pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
We added a teaspoon of minced garlic and 3 hot chili peppers for flavor and it is the best salsa we've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Great way to use up fresh garden tomatoes! I added a clove of garlic to give it even more flavor. I also followed another reviewer's suggestion to seed the tomatoes first, and I'm very glad I did. It would have been too watery and seedy otherwise! I only made half a recipe and still ended up with about 3 cups (1 cup per tomato, I guess). Unless you have a big food processor, you'll need to process the onion, peppers, garlic and cilantro first, remove them from the processor, then process the tomatoes. Mine was too full to process correctly, and I only made half a recipe! We didn't find that the olive oil or the vinegar gave the salsa an "odd flavor" as the previous reviewer indicated, although I did use just regular olive oil, which has a lighter flavor, and not extra virgin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mosheim, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
My DH and I thought this was ok. We just couldnt get over the odd flavor of the olive oil and vinegar in salsa. Dont think we'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
After adding a few ingredients,and dicing instead of processing, this was exactly what I had hoped. Better than some restaurants, I've been to. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Awesome! Got rave reviews at Labor Day picnic from all who tried. I chopped up some jabanero peppers and made a HOT version as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This was great after I made a few changes. I used 4 stalks of celery and 4 carrots. I only put in three jalepenos. I also added an entire bunch of cilantro because I love this herb. I will make this again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Did not like this at all. Considering all the other reviews, I thought this out be great but unfortunately I hated it. The oil seemed strange and we just did not like the consistency. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by USEREMILY3260

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Husband loves the flavor, excellent salsa. Will use this recipe again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States