Garden Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Loved this salsa - I had a couple of tomatoes that I needed to use, so I scaled this down to 5 servings. Used green onions instead of white (was all I had), left out the green pepper and olive oil (didn't have) and added three small cloves of garlic (salsa must have garlic imho). I also just dumped it all in my Ultimate Chopper - three seconds, done :) I will absolutely use this recipe again - thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrocklage72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Great basic recipe, I have been searching for one. I used the food processor as I hate to chop, just pulsed and it turned out great. Next time I will add garlic. Can't wait for the fresh produce to start coming in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Good set of ingredients. I substituted a red pepper for the green. I'd also up the # of jalapeno slices, because I like spicy. Next time, I'll try it without using the food processor; the finished product was a tad too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
5 Stars! I made this for my kids with a bounty from our garden and they loved it! Use the cilantro sparingly because it is a strong flavor! I had to use more veggies b/c I got chop happy but awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Great Recipe! Was not sure about the oil and vinegar, but it is a must. I use 1-2 fresh jalapenos when available, a couple cloves of garlic minced and omit the bell pepper. Everyone loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I am listing what I need at the store to make this. I have a dozen tomatoes on my deck railing BEGGING me to "salsify" them. It was so nice to read the reviews for this recipe; Valerie should feel so proud. I am rating the recipe based on ease of directions and member feedback. (very well written, thanks) can't wait to see what creative bursts await me. . . . I came back to say I just made this, and it's really great and undeniably a five. It will get nice in the fridge until dinner. Inspired to make a pineapple salsa - I pulsed double the onion, cilantro, jalapeno and (garlic)- half to the tomatoes, half to the grilled pineapple cooling on my counter. Same juicy dressing. Minutes after bookmarking this, my husband emailed me the EXACT recipe from his search for a nice salsa. Now that's a match made in heaven. Thanks again, Valerie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Make sure to add 1/2 tsp. salt to the tomatoes first, allowing them to sit a half an hour, then drain well. This helps release some of the excess juices. Great salsa recipe - I omitted the lime juice because I didn't have a lime, added 2 small cloves of garlic, and a fresh jalapeno pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I loved this recipe, I didn't have a lime but I will add it next time. VERY tasty, my kids even liked it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarnspice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I made this the other day for a presentation. It was good. I made it again last night with twice the jalapeno and it was great. Thank you for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I didn't really like the green peppers and vinegar in the salsa. I skipped the blender step because I like chunky salsa. I ended up mixing this with some store bought salsa from the local mexican grocery store, and forgot to take a picture before I did that. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States