Garden Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
This was exactly the recipe I was looking for to make homemade salsa with the tomatoes I grow in my garden! I added minced garlic and kosher salt for a little more flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I added the salsa to another recipe on here Quesadillas II and it made a huge difference to the flavour. It is a shame that I am the only one in the family to like raw onions as I have to now eat the whole bowl. Fantastic!!! as the lime and vinegar give it a real kick the cilantro is a must and in my mind so is garlic. This will be fantastic on a hot summers day and it was pretty good on a wet, cold, windy spring afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
We really enjoyed this salsa. The only ingredients that we put in the food processor were the tomatoes and cilantro (just minced the rest). We also added 2 garlic cloves (how can you make salsa with no garlic?!) and fresh jalepeno instead of pickled. We used one fresh but two would have been better. We served the salsa over homeade pita chips (cut pitas into six wedges with a pizza cutter, then separate and brush with oil, salt, pepper, and garlic powder and bake at 450 until browned). Incredible meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This is the best salsa I have ever made. It taste so fresh, it reminds me of the salsa I used to get from my favorite Mexician resturant. I highly recommend making this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This is the freshest, most flavorful salsa ever. The cilantro and the fresh lime juice do wonders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAMI55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Great salsa recipe! Very fresh and tasty. I used a lot less onion than the recipe called for (most of my family hates raw onion) and it turned out great. I also added a little bit of the brine from the jalepenos to make it a little spicier. A big hit at my last dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This is delicious. I seeded and squeezed the tomatoes before chopping them but as they sit there is more liquid they sit in. I drain that before adding other ingredients so the flavor is not sitting at the bottom of a bowl of salsa. Everyone loves fresh salsa and its healthy and low calorie. The cilantro makes a huge difference do not substitute that ingredient
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Left Green Pepers out, Loved this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This salsa was awsome, better than mexican restraunt salsa. But we saved some for 2 days in the refrigerator and when we pulled it out it wasnt bad but very different we didnt really like it then, i think it was something about the vinegar but not really sure. If youre planing to eat most of it that day, for a get together or something i HIGHLY recommend this because it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethannie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I had a lot of extra seasonal vegetables from my garden to use up and was looking for a basic fresh salsa recipe. This was outstanding!!! I did use red onion instead of sweet, and also added a small cucumber and 1 "stalk" of celery to the other veggies along with fresh jalapeno. I used my food processor for everything and it turned out great, not to pureed but not real chunky. I am definitely going to use this as the summer progresses and I have more fresh tomatoes! Be sure to use the fresh cilantro if you make it, it really makes the salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States