Garden Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Make sure to add 1/2 tsp. salt to the tomatoes first, allowing them to sit a half an hour, then drain well. This helps release some of the excess juices. Great salsa recipe - I omitted the lime juice because I didn't have a lime, added 2 small cloves of garlic, and a fresh jalapeno pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I loved this recipe, I didn't have a lime but I will add it next time. VERY tasty, my kids even liked it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarnspice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I made this the other day for a presentation. It was good. I made it again last night with twice the jalapeno and it was great. Thank you for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I didn't really like the green peppers and vinegar in the salsa. I skipped the blender step because I like chunky salsa. I ended up mixing this with some store bought salsa from the local mexican grocery store, and forgot to take a picture before I did that. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Sorry- we really didn't like it. All I could taste at first was cilantro, so I doubled the onion and peppers and added cumin and garlic, then let it set overnight. It didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LouisvilleHugger
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Forget the blender and keep it chunky because it's a lot fresher tasting and has a cleaner look. I tripled the recipe actually and I am very pleased. Though I did have to drain a lot of the tomatoes' goop because it was just way too wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I agree with ALL of the reviews that comment that this is a great base recipe! So here are my tweaks: doubled the salt (using sea salt), added 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes, used fresh jalapeno instead of pickled, added 1 tsp corn syrup, and added a 6 oz can of tomato paste (to thicken the "soupy" texture)... Next time, I'll also use less onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby
Home Town: Amery, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I agree with a previous review - it's a great basic recipe to adjust to your own taste. I found it a bit bland after making it & letting it sit for about 1 1/2 hours, so I added the other half of the lime (along with the zest), doubled the cilantro and added more salt. I used 4 small jalapenos from my garden -could've used more for a hot salsa. I also added some zucchini because I had it, and 3 garlic cloves. The additional lime really made a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Good basic recipe. I added some canned green chiles, sliced black olives, and fresh corn. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States