Garden Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I am listing what I need at the store to make this. I have a dozen tomatoes on my deck railing BEGGING me to "salsify" them. It was so nice to read the reviews for this recipe; Valerie should feel so proud. I am rating the recipe based on ease of directions and member feedback. (very well written, thanks) can't wait to see what creative bursts await me. . . . I came back to say I just made this, and it's really great and undeniably a five. It will get nice in the fridge until dinner. Inspired to make a pineapple salsa - I pulsed double the onion, cilantro, jalapeno and (garlic)- half to the tomatoes, half to the grilled pineapple cooling on my counter. Same juicy dressing. Minutes after bookmarking this, my husband emailed me the EXACT recipe from his search for a nice salsa. Now that's a match made in heaven. Thanks again, Valerie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Make sure to add 1/2 tsp. salt to the tomatoes first, allowing them to sit a half an hour, then drain well. This helps release some of the excess juices. Great salsa recipe - I omitted the lime juice because I didn't have a lime, added 2 small cloves of garlic, and a fresh jalapeno pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I loved this recipe, I didn't have a lime but I will add it next time. VERY tasty, my kids even liked it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Andrejcak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I made this the other day for a presentation. It was good. I made it again last night with twice the jalapeno and it was great. Thank you for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I didn't really like the green peppers and vinegar in the salsa. I skipped the blender step because I like chunky salsa. I ended up mixing this with some store bought salsa from the local mexican grocery store, and forgot to take a picture before I did that. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Sorry- we really didn't like it. All I could taste at first was cilantro, so I doubled the onion and peppers and added cumin and garlic, then let it set overnight. It didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LouisvilleHugger
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Forget the blender and keep it chunky because it's a lot fresher tasting and has a cleaner look. I tripled the recipe actually and I am very pleased. Though I did have to drain a lot of the tomatoes' goop because it was just way too wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I agree with ALL of the reviews that comment that this is a great base recipe! So here are my tweaks: doubled the salt (using sea salt), added 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes, used fresh jalapeno instead of pickled, added 1 tsp corn syrup, and added a 6 oz can of tomato paste (to thicken the "soupy" texture)... Next time, I'll also use less onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby
Home Town: Amery, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I agree with a previous review - it's a great basic recipe to adjust to your own taste. I found it a bit bland after making it & letting it sit for about 1 1/2 hours, so I added the other half of the lime (along with the zest), doubled the cilantro and added more salt. I used 4 small jalapenos from my garden -could've used more for a hot salsa. I also added some zucchini because I had it, and 3 garlic cloves. The additional lime really made a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Good basic recipe. I added some canned green chiles, sliced black olives, and fresh corn. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States