Garden Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Delicious! I added minced garlic. We love this and use vidalia onions. Thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Didn't have the wine vinegar but it was great even without it. My family really enjoyed it. It's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I would have enjoyed this more without all the cilantro - it just kills the taste of everything else. Next time I'm either going to drastically reduce the ammount or I will forgo the cilantro alltogether. Seriously, it was harsh. The rest of the recipe was excellent. Everything was fresh & delish. Extremely easy to prepare & any leftovers can be used for chicken, fish, blah blah blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
This was a good recipe. I subsituted red onion for sweet onion. I also chopped some tomatos and used a process with some. This is a good fresh recipe. If you are hoping for it to taste like jar salsa, it doesn't. It tastes like fresh salsa from the deli!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
It seemed heavy on cilantro and light on tomatoes to me. I'm a wimp when it comes to spicy but the 5 jalapeno slices were completely eclipsed by the flavor of cilantro. People at the party I took it to ate it, but its not something I liked enough to make a second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
very colorful and refreshing. I didn't use food processor for tomatoes, as I like a less 'soupy' salsa, so I squeeze the juice and seeds out and dice. Used red onion, and had to add 3 cloves of minced garlic. Used balsamic vinegar for the sweet mild flavor. Added the zest from the half of the small lime I had and complimented the flavors nicely. Thanks for this nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I had a lot of extra seasonal vegetables from my garden to use up and was looking for a basic fresh salsa recipe. This was outstanding!!! I did use red onion instead of sweet, and also added a small cucumber and 1 "stalk" of celery to the other veggies along with fresh jalapeno. I used my food processor for everything and it turned out great, not to pureed but not real chunky. I am definitely going to use this as the summer progresses and I have more fresh tomatoes! Be sure to use the fresh cilantro if you make it, it really makes the salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
We really enjoyed this salsa. The only ingredients that we put in the food processor were the tomatoes and cilantro (just minced the rest). We also added 2 garlic cloves (how can you make salsa with no garlic?!) and fresh jalepeno instead of pickled. We used one fresh but two would have been better. We served the salsa over homeade pita chips (cut pitas into six wedges with a pizza cutter, then separate and brush with oil, salt, pepper, and garlic powder and bake at 450 until browned). Incredible meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This salsa was awsome, better than mexican restraunt salsa. But we saved some for 2 days in the refrigerator and when we pulled it out it wasnt bad but very different we didnt really like it then, i think it was something about the vinegar but not really sure. If youre planing to eat most of it that day, for a get together or something i HIGHLY recommend this because it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethannie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I added the salsa to another recipe on here Quesadillas II and it made a huge difference to the flavour. It is a shame that I am the only one in the family to like raw onions as I have to now eat the whole bowl. Fantastic!!! as the lime and vinegar give it a real kick the cilantro is a must and in my mind so is garlic. This will be fantastic on a hot summers day and it was pretty good on a wet, cold, windy spring afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States