Garden Stuffed Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
I had to make a couple of changes due to the fact my husband is on a fat reduced diet(dr.ordered)and does not like ranch dressing... I added the chopped onions directly to the mashed potato mix to eliminate the butter. I used fat free Italian dressing in place of the ranch, and used mrs. dash's garlic and herb seasoning (2 Teaspoons) in the place of salt and pepper. I also sprayed the pan with a fat free olive oil cooking spray so I didn't need to rub the outside of the potato with oil. I also sprinkled the top with fat reduced pamersan cheese. VERY TASTY!!! Even my kids ate this (all 8 of them) and didn't realize it was fat reduced. Served it with grilled salmon fillets. Great base recipe for me to play with. Thank you Hallie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
Really good! Based on the previous reviews, I added garlic, half a cup of shredded colby jack cheese and used Hidden Valley Ranch dressing with Bacon to enhance the flavor. Also, to save time I didn't cook the onions, just mixed them with the rest of the filling ingredients before stuffing and baking the potates. This probably made the onion flavor stronger than the original recipe but if you like onion you'll really like the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
This is a delicious recipe following a few changes. I did as Bevink suggested and changed a few things of my own. I added lots of garlic to sautee with the onions and instead of ranch dressing I used a few tbsp's of olive oil (not extra virgin which tends to get bitter when you cook it) plus some parsley, a small amount of cheddar and parmesan cheese and 4 slices (for two potatoes) of cooked turkey bacon. Then I seasoned it with Emeril's Essence seasoning (lots!) and sprinkled a bit of sea salt on the outside of the spuds while they cooked. It was so good I ate it two nights in a row ;) Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I used this recipe as a base and modified it by: 1) Adding bacon by sauteing 2 chopped strips until crispy. 2) Sauteing some chopped garlic and the onions in some of the bacon fat and omitting the butter. 3) Cutting way back on the ranch dressing (just because I wanted to add my own spices) 4) Adding a touch of milk, shredded Parmesan, and a smidge of curry spice to the potato mixture. 5) Brushing the outside of the skins in olive oil (didn't have veg oil) and sprinkled with a little sea salt. It was time consuming but really worth the effort. They were tasty. Oh, I also cut the recipe in half. We ate these as our main course and were both stuffed ourselves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shinjuku, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
My family ate this but all said it needed more flavor. The funny thing is I had added more salt and pepper than the recipe called for and even added some fresh garlic. I'll make this again but will turn up the seasoning even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Wow, these are delicious! I've never seen a stuffed potato without it being loaded with cheese and bacon. These were way better! Will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieLovinHippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
For the work I had to put in to them, I wasn't thrilled with the taste. I did have huge potatoes, and did increase the recipe to 5 servings for the 4 potatoes to compensate, but maybe I should have increased it by more. Here's a tip on getting the potato out of the skin without destroying it: After you cut the tops off, cut down into the potato all the way around the top, angling a little so get close to the skin without puncturing it. Then score that oval cut several times aross the middle. You can then scoop it out in sections. I didn't tear a single one. Just wish they had tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
These taters are awesome! I scaled the recipe in half for just two potatoes and it was wonderful. Instead of ranch dressing I used ranch dip that I made with sour cream and a packet of Hidden Valley Ranch Dip mix. I topped the potatoes with finely shredded Cheddar before putting them in the oven for the second time. I also oiled the potatoes and rolled them lightly in salt, then wrapped them in aluminumn before putting them in the oven for the first time. These were terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Photo by Raquel
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Okay I changed a main flavour and I debated reviewing this but I think it helps people give ideas for variations and in the end I am giving you 5 stars! ;) I used blue cheese dressing instead of ranch, as well as some gorgonzola and added garlic with the sauteed onions. It tasted absolutely amazing! A nice twist on twice baked potatoes. Thanks for the idea which was the idea of broccoli in a stuffed potato. Will make again and again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I made these for a barbeque yesterday and they were so good!! I added cheese to the top, and I wished I hadn't. It took away the too much of the ranch flavor. And I LOVE cheese!! I definitely will be making these again...just without the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States