Garden Paella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This should be Vegetables with Rice, not Paella....the seasonings aren't Spanish...so next time, I'm leaving out the Thyme....and probably use yellow rice with the seasonings in the package. Also will use about half the vegetables, leaving out carrots, corn and tomatoes. Lastly, I will cook the rice and vegetables separate and then mix them after the rice is completely cooked. When you mix them before the rice is cooked, the rice ends up being very uneven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Loved this - it was just what I was looking for. We will absolutely enjoy it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I just made this, with a few adjustments. Like another reviewer, I used saffron instead of turmeric and added cumin. Used 4 cups broth (2c vegetable and 2 c chicken) since it needed more liquid. Also replaced peas with crimini mushrooms since I don't like peas. Used 1 can of diced tomatoes (without draining) instead of fresh. It's good, but not as flavorful as I'd like. It does make a huge amount. Will have to freeze some. I think I'll eat this as a healthy side dish. If I make it again, I'll probably cut the recipe in half and experiment more with the seasonings. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Well worth all the prep and chopping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tirtza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was an incredibly flexible recipe: My easy version... onion, garlic & proscuitto sauted. Add leftover cooked rice (cooked in chicken broth), add a bag of diced frozen veggie mix (this one had broccoli, carrots, cauliflower). Next the spices: thyme, turmeric and paprika. Saute a couple minutes more and we have a winner! Although my family couldn't tell you it was a Paella, they could tell us they loved it...and they all had seconds! Thanks for sharing! 7/7/11 - Made this again, but followed the recipe more closely. Instead of long grain, I used jasmine rice and it came out very sticky. Considering how wonderful the recipe was before, when I make this again, I would probably go back to my short cut recipe above...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This was good but lacked the kick that comes with authentic Paella. I will definitely try making Paella again, but next time I will look for a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was a very tasty, easy and healthy meal. I used jasmine rice, and saffron instead of turmeric. Added in some asparagus; used frozen peas & carrot mix. Also used an extra half cup of veg. stock. My husband liked the artichokes but I might leave them out next time. We are trying to do one vegetarian meal a week and this was an excellent dish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kseow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I was looking for something to use with green beans and I had some carrots, artichokes & green beans. I saw this recipe and it gave me the idea to use tumeric, paprika & garlic. EXCELLENT! I will make the whole recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
FANTASTIC... I added celery in place of the carrots. Next time ill substitute cabbage for the artichoke, only cause I love cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by needs garlic!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I was looking for a recipe to use up some zucchini a friend had given me and had also been craving artichokes. This was the perfect solution. The only thing I did differently was to use Jasmin rice and a little more turmeric than the amount called for. A keeper, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States