Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
So quick and easy. Why would anyone opt for canned tomato soup when they can have this delicious fresh soup so easily. This one will appear on my table often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
This recipe was wonderful. Best tomato soup I've ever had. I added 2 cloves of crushed garlic, an extra bay leaf, and whole peppercorns (green, black, white, and red) along with the cloves. I also used vegetable broth to make it vegetarian. Top each bowlful with a handful of garlic croutons, and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
Absolutely out of this world!! This is fantastic tomato soup. I grow tons of tomatoes in my garden every summer and when I can them, I use my sauce instead of the fresh and it turns out just as good and quicker!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Every Saturday I get blemished tomatoes free from our local farmer's market and use them to make this soup. Everyone loves it. I can't imagine leaving out the cloves -- I think that's what makes it! I use an electric stick blender to make it smooth and top it with a sprinkling of fresh grated Romano Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
This recipe turned out excellent; the soup tasted so fresh and healthy. A few notes about this recipe. First, the recipe says "1 slice onion"; I treated this as though it said "1 sliced onion", and it worked out perfectly (I am sure this is what was intented). Also, as someone else noted, this recipe as it stands does not make enough soup. I doubled the recipe and it made enough for 5 people to have one medium sized bowl of soup each. At least double this recipe, if not triple it. Also, by substituting vegetable stock for chicken broth, this recipe is vegetarian-friendly. In addition, I made the following alterations: added 1 bay leaf, 1 tsp crushed garlic, 1 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/2 cup milk, 1 Tbsp oregano, 1 tsp thyme, pepper to taste. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1306 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
This soup was the best. I didn't have cloves around the house, but it still turned out wonderfully, I added some garlic instead. Also, Rather than discarding all of the tomatoes after they'd cooked, I pureed them for a few seconds in the blender, and added them to the rue. It was fabulous. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
631 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
Super Yummy! I made this a few nights ago and both my son and I had several bowls. My husband did not care for it so that was fine with me as I took the rest for lunch the next day. I did change a few things and like some of the other reviewers....I added garlic...basil and red pepper flakes and also...some additional sugar. I left the soup as is and did not make the roux at the end as it was already thick enough for our liking and it was....perfect! I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
We really liked this recipe. The taste was wonderful and what a good way to use up some of those tomatoes in the garden. I always make my own soups and this will be a recipe that I keep and use again. I give a thumbs up to this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
Without changing any ingredients this is the BEST recipe for tomato soup I've ever had. It's quick, fresh tasting, and the cloves give it a hint of je ne sais quoi. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sondra Glucksman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe. I have never had fresh tomato soup before (always canned) and this was delicious. I added fresh basil to the tomato mixture while it was simmering. I did not have a food mill, so I pureed the tomato mixture in a blender and then put the mixture through a regular sieve to remove the seeds. Then I added the tomato mixture to the flour and butter. At the end I added a little fat-free half & half. It turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 735) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States