Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was an excellent recipe for simple, easy-to-make tomato soup. Like most people I doubled it and it worked fine. I added a few bay leaves, dash of thyme, a few fresh basil leaves, a few garlic cloves for some more flavour but even without these spices this still would have gotten 5 stars from me, they weren't necessary. I also substituted the butter for EVOO to make it a little healthier. Will definitely keep making and as I like to put parmesan cheese in my tomato soup I will probably omit all the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Delicious. For my second batch I left out the cloves and sauteed the onions with garilic, basil and thyme. I strained this batch through a strainer to get the tomato skins out. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Horne Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I would give it 3 but my husband loved it and would give it a 10 if it was possible. Next time I make it, because he WILL want it again, I will use 3 cloves instead of 4 and more than just the one slice of onion. I did add basil to it but only one fresh leaf. We used fresh tomatoes from our garden which always makes things better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Very nice recipe. I plan on doing at least one caner load of this soup. Quadrupled the recipe. Skipped the sugar, added garlic. It was a pre-meal appetizer at a family function, and they practically licked the pot clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Loved it. One sliced onion! Even my picky husband had 2 bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This is a fantastic tomato soup recipe. I made it according to the recipe and my husband said it was the best tomato soup he has ever had. I loved it, too! It is special enough to serve to guests for lunch. I will probably make gallons of it from my garden tomatoes to freeze for winter. I'm always happy to find another recipe to use up the seemingly endless supply of tomatoes from my garden that we will actually end up eating! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This soup is wonderful and easy. It's a perfect 'end of summer season taste' with a hint of autumn from the bit of clove. It's just two of us, so I used one big can of San Marzano tomatoes and 2 cups of well-seasoned vegetable stock, blended with cooked sweet onions and garlic and real butter. Seasoned to taste with S&P and dash of ground clove. Delicious! My veggie boyfriend loved this with thick grilled cheese sandwich. Cozy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Love it just as written! Great fresh tomato taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belpre, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Wow! This soup is great. I used tomatoes and onion from the garden in a very very rough chop, a few pinches of ground cloves, and vegetable broth. I also made my roux vegan and gluten free by using gf flour and olive oil. I also do not have a mill so I used an immersion blender and a strainer - worked perfectly. Restaurant quality soup for sure. My only addition was a generous sprinkle of red pepper flakes before blending, but I'd leave that out next time even though I love spicy food - this soup doesn't need it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boxsquat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Summer in a bowl :) stuck to recipe but see many options for embellishment of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 708) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States