Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Delicious soup! The fresh tomato taste is wonderful. I love that there are only a few ingredients, preserves the garden fresh taste of the tomatoes. I don't have a food mill. I used my stick blender, but it did not blend the tomato skins very well. So next time I will peel the tomatoes first. Thank you Charlotte for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Delish! I followed VIVBO's suggested changes and I did not use cloves as didn't have any on hand. I served with a dollop of plain 0% yoghurt as it is quite peppery with the cayenne. I did not add any sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I doubled the tomatoes, added a block of cream cheese and some basil. So good. Perfect with some grilled cheese, or as a side or app. Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I followed this fairly closely. I used ground cloves, and I thought that was perfect, never would have thought of it myself. The soup was good, but I like creamier tomato soup with basil and garlic better. WARNING: if you blend the soup as shown in the video, you are getting a totally different soup than the original recipe makes. Running it through a food mill takes out all the skins, seeds, and most of the onion, so you just get the tomato juice and pulp with onion flavor. So... BLENDER: thicker with all the solids mixed in and stronger onion taste, FOOD MILL: thinner with just the tomato flavor. Another option many have suggested is to blend and then strain through a sieve, but I think you would still be getting too much onion that way. The food mill is definitely my top choice for this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I'm sorry, we just didn't enjoy it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sschwark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
First time making tomato soup great but I used immersion blender still it came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
VIVIBO has the right idea. Don't waste all the veggie goodness! Just blend it. It was very good as VIVIBO altered it. I stopped at blending in the roux and just stired in the fresh basil at the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benandsophiesmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I have tons of tomatoes from my garden and needed a way to use them up. I was browsing for tomato recipes while drunk last night and accidentally wrote down 2 cups of tomatoes instead of 4. I just realized that now, after having made the recipe and coming back to review it. Anyway, despite me only putting in 2 cups of tomatoes, it is seriously good and really simple. I look forward to making this again, but with the correct proportions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claire03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Love it. Best way of using tomatoes from your garden. I simplified the steps. I first cook the onion and garlic in a little bit of olive oil until the onion is well cooked. Then I put in the same pot the butter and the flour and after half of a minute I add the broth and I like to put some broth and some milk to make it more creamy. Thanks for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I made this yesterday and I can tell I will be making it frequently in the future. I did follow the recipe, including using just one large slice of onion. I didn't have whole cloves but I did put in about 1/4 to 1/3 tsp. ground cloves instead. Since I don't have a food mill I used my immersion blender and just pureed it thoroughly and plan on using this method in future as well. It did require a good amount of salt at the end and I may consider adding salt at the beginning of the cooking process. I think I might use more onion and possibly some garlic and basil next time too. I plan on dicing the onion so that I can puree it more easily. All in all, very tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 781) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States