Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Delicious and easy to prepare. No need to use blender or food mill. I removed skins from tomatoes by dropping into boiling water for only a few minutes. Skin removes easily. Once cool, I crush the tomatoes by hand. Used ground cloves (few pinches), garlic powder and whole onion sliced in 1/2. Before serving, I removed the onion. Served with grilled cheese sandwich. Delicious on a chilly autumn day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I've used this soup recipe for a couple of years, and we love it. But I do tweak it. I think the key to any top-notch soup is a hearty, homemade chicken broth. I always have some in the freezer, and I have a review for it on this site. I won't make soup without it. I mixed the soup ingredients in my Vita Mix blender even before cooking it. Added basil and crushed red peppers. Careful with the cloves -- I didn't have whole, so used powdered and it doesn't take much to overwhelm the soup. Use a tiny pinch. We add a bit of half and half. Now I use 2 T. of balsamic, as someone else suggested. Good to the last drop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Photo by HSB
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I've never made tomato soup before, but it seemed the perfect accompaniment to grilled cheese sandwiches today. I was in the grocery store, quickly googled 'homemade tomato soup' recipes, looked for the top rated soup on my favorite site, and started shopping for what I needed. I came home, started the soup immediately, and prepped for the sandwiches. I don't have a food mill, so I threw everything in my Vitamix and blended to smithereens. I doubled the recipe, and made a few modifications, namely two cloves of garlic, a pinch of toasted ground cumin, and a pinch of curry powder. I also added a few dashes of white balsamic reduction, and a splash of half and half cream when served. The soup was divine. I'm rating this a five due to ease of preparation, simplicity of execution, and the fact that the soup tasted really good on its own. I also love that it's so basic that it allows for any modification you can think of. I'm already dreaming up what I can do to it next time. A definite keeper. The sandwich was inspired by Jamie Oliver's comfort cooking - grilled cheese sandwiches with a 'spicy cheese crown'. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This was garden fresh goodness and sooo easy to make. I took some reviewers advice and just used the immersion blender to mix it all together - skins, seeds and all and then add it to the roux. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I blanched and seeded the tomatoes before I read the reviews that it is not necessary so next time I will not go thru the work. I sautéed the onion and garlic before adding the rest and did not have whole cloves so used 1/2 tsp ground cloves. I thickened with corn starch and chicken broth after taking the stick blender to the soup then added fresh basil and oregano. It is good soup. I fear that the variety of tomato matters as I did not find it as rich as I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Oh my....this recipe was perfect as is. So glad I made a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2garden

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Change NOTHING about this recipe at all! It is perfect just as it is! I used all heirloom tomatoes from the garden: "Cosmonaut Volkov," "Black Sea Man" and "Black From Tula"--all from Ukraine; "Ninevah" from Mosul, Iraq; and "Dutchman" and "Amish Paste" from the US. These heirlooms made the soup very flavorful and savory. This recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E Devos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
So good. I followed the instructions, except added 3 cloves of fresh garlic and some pepper. Otherwise, just stayed with the original recipe. This was so tasty. I didn't have a mill or imersion blender so I put it in a food processor. Will definately make it again. This recipe made 5 bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Blake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Great way to use those fresh tomatoes. I did skin and seed the tomatoes first. I doubled the tomatoes and added more cloves of garlic. I also some fresh cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This was DELICIOUS and incredibly easy! I did add sautéed garlic and fresh basil (to suit my taste) and used an emersion blender in lieu of a food mill (I don't own one). My husband already can't wait for me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 793) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States