Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Oh heavenly! I never new cloves could be used to this effect. Certainly do not skip them. Created more waste than I expected, since I put it through a pretty fine mesh sieve, but it was totally worth it. Served with whole milk to cream-ify the soup and cheesy quinoa for a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplevegie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Good stuff. On its own, it is a little bland, so I added a couple tbsp. of garlic powder and about a tsp of cumin (basically both to taste). To me, the recipe needed very very little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I made this soup according to the recipe but I used garlic instead of cloves because I didn't have any at my house. It was delicious and I loved the simplicity of it. You can tweak as many on here did but I thought it was great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Very good! So much better than canned and easy! I didn't bother to peel the tomatoes and I added garlic for extra flavour. I let everything simmer for 20 minutes and then used a hand blender to break it down. I removed the 4 whole cloves. Then added to the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
My husband and I really like this soup. I've made it several times when I had too many tomatoes from the garden, and followed the recipe as exactly as I could, using 4 cloves (not garlic) and 1 slice of onion. I don't have a food mill so I whirl it in the blender,(be careful if it's still hot!) then strain it. There's very little residue other than seeds, so I don't see any reason to peel or de-seed the tomatoes, which some reviewers have mentioned. The only change I've ever made to the ingredients was to use brown rice flour for the roux when I made it for gluten-free guests. We couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I tried this recipe yesterday. If I understand it correctly, it calls for 1 slicED onion, which is what I used. And cloves--It doesn't say garlic cloves; so I used cloves. The result is quite an unusual taste. Not to my, nor to my husband's liking. Won't try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I used this as a start for a recipe and we loved it. I just used an emulsion blender since I don't have a food mill. I also added garlic when it was boiling and added 3/4 a cup of milk to the butter and flour mixture before adding the tomatoes back in, it made it a bit creamer. My hunny loved it so much I made it for lunch and he requested it for dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Really good recipe, just think the sugar wasn't needed since it made it a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Added b vinegar, basil, extra garlic, cut sugar in half, Added 1/3 cup of whipping cream, also added cooked carrots& butternut squash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Very tasty. I used ground cloves as suggested by another reviewer. Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 712) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States