Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
My husband and I really like this soup. I've made it several times when I had too many tomatoes from the garden, and followed the recipe as exactly as I could, using 4 cloves (not garlic) and 1 slice of onion. I don't have a food mill so I whirl it in the blender,(be careful if it's still hot!) then strain it. There's very little residue other than seeds, so I don't see any reason to peel or de-seed the tomatoes, which some reviewers have mentioned. The only change I've ever made to the ingredients was to use brown rice flour for the roux when I made it for gluten-free guests. We couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I tried this recipe yesterday. If I understand it correctly, it calls for 1 slicED onion, which is what I used. And cloves--It doesn't say garlic cloves; so I used cloves. The result is quite an unusual taste. Not to my, nor to my husband's liking. Won't try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I used this as a start for a recipe and we loved it. I just used an emulsion blender since I don't have a food mill. I also added garlic when it was boiling and added 3/4 a cup of milk to the butter and flour mixture before adding the tomatoes back in, it made it a bit creamer. My hunny loved it so much I made it for lunch and he requested it for dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Really good recipe, just think the sugar wasn't needed since it made it a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Added b vinegar, basil, extra garlic, cut sugar in half, Added 1/3 cup of whipping cream, also added cooked carrots& butternut squash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Very tasty. I used ground cloves as suggested by another reviewer. Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I thought the flavor of this was just okay and also, mine was seriously "bright orange." To make the recipe quicker, I just put everything in my Vitamix blender on the soup function after sauteing the onions in the butter. Only change I made was using a couple small pinches of allspice in place of the cloves, so it easily blended. I got about 6-7 servings and took quite a bit of tomatoes. I would consider halving the recipe, if making for 1-2 people. I have a lot leftover. No one seemed to love this soup, but at least it used up some tomatoes that were about to expire anyhow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is a very simple, very nutritious and very good recipe. I simplify it by blending the tomatoes and onion in the Vitamix first then add it to the pot with the broth and cloves. I don't use salt or sugar and it comes out great. You can also reduce the amount of broth if you like it thicker. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I did not know how good homemade soup could be, this is the best tomato soup. it rocks big time! and you can add almost anything to this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Used a whole sweet sliced onion along with homemade chicken stock and fresh tomatoes from the garden. I REMOVED THE CLOVES before processing with my immersion blender. No need to strain. Be sure to slowly brown (and stir constantly) the (I used sweet butter) butter-flour mix over low heat - took about 5 minutes for mine to be the correct color. Perfect tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 708) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States