Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Thank you, Charlotte for sharing this recipe. Big hit in my family and I followed it to the "t".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanby
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This soup was basically on the right track. However, not exactly what I was looking for. I'd probably leave out the cloves next time. I noticed a lot of people changed the recipe considerably to get it to their liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
made this tonite with some changes from the reviews. Good soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This was my first time making homeade tomato soup, and it was well worth it! I had so many garden tomatoes left over this year I froze tons of them since I use them rather frequently. I pulled out several freezer bags of my best beefsteak tomatoes and placed them in a bath a hot water. The skins came right off. I followed the recipe pretty closely, except I do not have a food mill so after cooking all together, I cooled the soup and then pureed it in my food processor until it was the right consistency. I also added a little bit of heat with a few garden peppers, some garlic, and basil at the end. It was by far the best tomato soup I have ever eaten. I ate a huge bowl of it before the bread I was making to go with it was even done. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I love this recipe. It is so easy to make. I have a few tomatoes left from the harvest and had to use them up so I thought I would give this a try. I cooked the tomatoes with garlic and onion and after the 20 minutes as directed I used my immersion blender. I put all of that blended concoction into a sieve and worked it until it no longer had any liquid left in it. I only had tiny tomatoes so there were a lot of seeds but if i had large tomatoes I don't think I would even put it through the sieve. I did the rest as directed. The only thing I would question is the 6 servings. We only got 2 large bowls out of this so I'm not sure how you would feed 6 with this amount. Maybe my liquid reduced too much as the tomatoes cooked. I did add some cream I had to get rid of but I don't think you need to add cream or milk. It would be delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Delicious and easy to prepare. No need to use blender or food mill. I removed skins from tomatoes by dropping into boiling water for only a few minutes. Skin removes easily. Once cool, I crush the tomatoes by hand. Used ground cloves (few pinches), garlic powder and whole onion sliced in 1/2. Before serving, I removed the onion. Served with grilled cheese sandwich. Delicious on a chilly autumn day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I've used this soup recipe for a couple of years, and we love it. But I do tweak it. I think the key to any top-notch soup is a hearty, homemade chicken broth. I always have some in the freezer, and I have a review for it on this site. I won't make soup without it. I mixed the soup ingredients in my Vita Mix blender even before cooking it. Added basil and crushed red peppers. Careful with the cloves -- I didn't have whole, so used powdered and it doesn't take much to overwhelm the soup. Use a tiny pinch. We add a bit of half and half. Now I use 2 T. of balsamic, as someone else suggested. Good to the last drop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Photo by HSB
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I've never made tomato soup before, but it seemed the perfect accompaniment to grilled cheese sandwiches today. I was in the grocery store, quickly googled 'homemade tomato soup' recipes, looked for the top rated soup on my favorite site, and started shopping for what I needed. I came home, started the soup immediately, and prepped for the sandwiches. I don't have a food mill, so I threw everything in my Vitamix and blended to smithereens. I doubled the recipe, and made a few modifications, namely two cloves of garlic, a pinch of toasted ground cumin, and a pinch of curry powder. I also added a few dashes of white balsamic reduction, and a splash of half and half cream when served. The soup was divine. I'm rating this a five due to ease of preparation, simplicity of execution, and the fact that the soup tasted really good on its own. I also love that it's so basic that it allows for any modification you can think of. I'm already dreaming up what I can do to it next time. A definite keeper. The sandwich was inspired by Jamie Oliver's comfort cooking - grilled cheese sandwiches with a 'spicy cheese crown'. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This was garden fresh goodness and sooo easy to make. I took some reviewers advice and just used the immersion blender to mix it all together - skins, seeds and all and then add it to the roux. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I blanched and seeded the tomatoes before I read the reviews that it is not necessary so next time I will not go thru the work. I sautéed the onion and garlic before adding the rest and did not have whole cloves so used 1/2 tsp ground cloves. I thickened with corn starch and chicken broth after taking the stick blender to the soup then added fresh basil and oregano. It is good soup. I fear that the variety of tomato matters as I did not find it as rich as I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 789) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States