Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I've used this soup recipe for a couple of years, and we love it. But I do tweak it. I think the key to any top-notch soup is a hearty, homemade chicken broth. I always have some in the freezer, and I have a review for it on this site. I won't make soup without it. I mixed the soup ingredients in my Vita Mix blender even before cooking it. Added basil and crushed red peppers. Careful with the cloves -- I didn't have whole, so used powdered and it doesn't take much to overwhelm the soup. Use a tiny pinch. We add a bit of half and half. Now I use 2 T. of balsamic, as someone else suggested. Good to the last drop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Photo by HSB
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I've never made tomato soup before, but it seemed the perfect accompaniment to grilled cheese sandwiches today. I was in the grocery store, quickly googled 'homemade tomato soup' recipes, looked for the top rated soup on my favorite site, and started shopping for what I needed. I came home, started the soup immediately, and prepped for the sandwiches. I don't have a food mill, so I threw everything in my Vitamix and blended to smithereens. I doubled the recipe, and made a few modifications, namely two cloves of garlic, a pinch of toasted ground cumin, and a pinch of curry powder. I also added a few dashes of white balsamic reduction, and a splash of half and half cream when served. The soup was divine. I'm rating this a five due to ease of preparation, simplicity of execution, and the fact that the soup tasted really good on its own. I also love that it's so basic that it allows for any modification you can think of. I'm already dreaming up what I can do to it next time. A definite keeper. The sandwich was inspired by Jamie Oliver's comfort cooking - grilled cheese sandwiches with a 'spicy cheese crown'. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This was garden fresh goodness and sooo easy to make. I took some reviewers advice and just used the immersion blender to mix it all together - skins, seeds and all and then add it to the roux. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I blanched and seeded the tomatoes before I read the reviews that it is not necessary so next time I will not go thru the work. I sautéed the onion and garlic before adding the rest and did not have whole cloves so used 1/2 tsp ground cloves. I thickened with corn starch and chicken broth after taking the stick blender to the soup then added fresh basil and oregano. It is good soup. I fear that the variety of tomato matters as I did not find it as rich as I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Oh my....this recipe was perfect as is. So glad I made a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2garden

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Change NOTHING about this recipe at all! It is perfect just as it is! I used all heirloom tomatoes from the garden: "Cosmonaut Volkov," "Black Sea Man" and "Black From Tula"--all from Ukraine; "Ninevah" from Mosul, Iraq; and "Dutchman" and "Amish Paste" from the US. These heirlooms made the soup very flavorful and savory. This recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E Devos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
So good. I followed the instructions, except added 3 cloves of fresh garlic and some pepper. Otherwise, just stayed with the original recipe. This was so tasty. I didn't have a mill or imersion blender so I put it in a food processor. Will definately make it again. This recipe made 5 bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Great way to use those fresh tomatoes. I did skin and seed the tomatoes first. I doubled the tomatoes and added more cloves of garlic. I also some fresh cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This was DELICIOUS and incredibly easy! I did add sautéed garlic and fresh basil (to suit my taste) and used an emersion blender in lieu of a food mill (I don't own one). My husband already can't wait for me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Delicious just as it is on a chilly early fall day! Followed the recipe, except for putting through a food mill. I don't really like totally 'smooth' soups, so I just used my submersible blender in the tomato mixture before adding to the roux and that gave it a nice, slightly chunky texture which I prefer. I can't imagine not using the cloves either, as another reviewer stated - gave it a wonderful, earthy taste that shouldn't be missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie1789

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 763) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States