Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was good, however, I think I prefer tomato soup recipes that use tomato juice instead of chicken broth as a base. This just didn't have the rich tomato flavor that I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ave's4cooking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Fresh, light, and tasty. I would say that this makes closer to 4 servings than 6. (4 bowls or 6 cups of soup, maybe). I did what one reviewer suggested which was to puree the whole thing in a blender after it boils for 20 minutes, before going to the roux step. I also added parsley, basil, and thyme. I might try this again with some garlic. It was a tasty soup, and perfect with a grilled cheese sandwich (I had a smoked cheddar grilled cheese), but I think it was missing something, so maybe I'll add garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I am a mother of three teens, and a wife. I have a very picky 12 year old, and he can't get enough of this soup. He asks me to make it often! I often get recipes from here to change things up a bit from the usual weekday meals. This tomato soup is absolutely phenomenal as is!!! Honestly, the ONLY thing I took out was the clove because I can't have them. I would suggest that everyone follows the recipe as is! I have to adjust the recipe to 24 servings. (I know that's a lot, but I have a husband that loves to eat, and three teens). And, it is wiped out within 20 minutes! I love this recipe, and highly recommend it! It is a very sophisticated soup, and is worthy of dinner parties. I give it two very high thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I used holy trinity instead of just onions, and also added mushrooms and carrots. Whole milk instead of cream, and to cut the acid, instead of sugar, I put a pear in with the vegetables. Worked perfectly !! My additions took it a bit too far to still be called tomato soup, but it is an excellent creamy vegetable bisque ! I love winter. Soup weather is the best weather !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Oh heavenly! I never new cloves could be used to this effect. Certainly do not skip them. Created more waste than I expected, since I put it through a pretty fine mesh sieve, but it was totally worth it. Served with whole milk to cream-ify the soup and cheesy quinoa for a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplevegie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Good stuff. On its own, it is a little bland, so I added a couple tbsp. of garlic powder and about a tsp of cumin (basically both to taste). To me, the recipe needed very very little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I made this soup according to the recipe but I used garlic instead of cloves because I didn't have any at my house. It was delicious and I loved the simplicity of it. You can tweak as many on here did but I thought it was great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Very good! So much better than canned and easy! I didn't bother to peel the tomatoes and I added garlic for extra flavour. I let everything simmer for 20 minutes and then used a hand blender to break it down. I removed the 4 whole cloves. Then added to the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
My husband and I really like this soup. I've made it several times when I had too many tomatoes from the garden, and followed the recipe as exactly as I could, using 4 cloves (not garlic) and 1 slice of onion. I don't have a food mill so I whirl it in the blender,(be careful if it's still hot!) then strain it. There's very little residue other than seeds, so I don't see any reason to peel or de-seed the tomatoes, which some reviewers have mentioned. The only change I've ever made to the ingredients was to use brown rice flour for the roux when I made it for gluten-free guests. We couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I tried this recipe yesterday. If I understand it correctly, it calls for 1 slicED onion, which is what I used. And cloves--It doesn't say garlic cloves; so I used cloves. The result is quite an unusual taste. Not to my, nor to my husband's liking. Won't try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 746) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States