Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Great tasting tomato soup! I didn't change a thing in the original ingredients outlined for the recipe. But before I began cooking the tomatoes, I washed them and put them into my VitaMix to puree them. Then I put the tomato puree into the stockpot and went from there. I used ground cloves (I didn't have whole clove). My husband loved this soup -- especially with a grilled cheese sandwich! I will definitely make this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butterfly1789

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Made this recipe several times, I used cloves of garlic. Family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This is a fabulous soup that is surprisingly easy to make, I knew I would want more, as usually do with soups, so I doubled the recipe and used 1 whole red onion,a carton of chicken broth, as well as 8 large cloves of garlic. I grow tomatoes and had some red and yellow varieties available off the vine and used both and it was just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Good tastie soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Awesome and easy. I didn't use cloves, I sautéed 4 cloves of chopped garlic in the stock pot before adding the rest of the ingredients. added fresh basil at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Guinnessgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Good a little sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
A little to sweet. I like mine more acidic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight(and grilled cheese sandwiches) and the taste was FABULOUS!!! Since it was just enough for THREE of us -- it did not make six servings -- it was perfect. Because it only made half of the servings promised I did not need to use all of the salt/sugar mixture. I could have also used one less clove but it was still very, very good. It will be October in just a couple of days so it is a shame that I did not find this recipe sooner during the summer when tomatoes are plentiful. Also, I do not have a food mill so I strained it through a colander and pressed with a spatula. I will make this again and again. Thanks Charlotte!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Mewowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Awesome and easy! Great thing to do with all those garden tomatoes that are beginning to go soft -yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
It tasted like fresh tomatoes, which is a good thing, but it was pretty watery. For some reason it has more acidity than other tomato soups which didn't make my tummy very happy. I think it's just a personal preference thing. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiny me

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 713) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States