Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I used garlic cloves instead of regular cloves, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Like most cooks and most of the people posting feed-back, a recipe is a guide. This one is a doozy. Since fresh tomatoes are not available and store-bought are just plain awful (except the Kumato ... very good), I used a 90oz can of San Marzanos with great success! I won't go in to other deviations, I just thought I'd recommend that one in particular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
A very good basic tomato soup. I have a love-hate relationship with my food mill. Hate using it; love the results. It kept all of the seeds and skins out of the soup. Can't imagine getting the same results with a blender or infusion mixer. The soup would be better with the addition of garlic and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I think this could have been a good soup but the cloves completely overpower it. I used less than the recipe called for and it is still all I could taste. I added more liquid and several other things to try to cut down the taste of the cloves but to no avail. I doubled the recipe as per other reviews and now I have a huge pot of inedible soup. Complete waste of time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This was really good. I added a little bit of fresh basil and a splash of balsamic vinegar right at the end. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
As written it was fine. We ate it. My husband liked it but it can be better. Now I make tomato soup all the time but it goes like this: 30oz tomato sauce, 24oz tomato paste, 32oz broth, onion & garlic to taste. Simple and so, so good. Add a grilled cheese and dinner is served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I agreed with one reviewer's tweaking of the recipe. It came out great and will be added to my rotation! Did not actually add the balsamic, but will try next time. Excellent, satisfying and sophisticated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was good, however, I think I prefer tomato soup recipes that use tomato juice instead of chicken broth as a base. This just didn't have the rich tomato flavor that I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ave's4cooking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Fresh, light, and tasty. I would say that this makes closer to 4 servings than 6. (4 bowls or 6 cups of soup, maybe). I did what one reviewer suggested which was to puree the whole thing in a blender after it boils for 20 minutes, before going to the roux step. I also added parsley, basil, and thyme. I might try this again with some garlic. It was a tasty soup, and perfect with a grilled cheese sandwich (I had a smoked cheddar grilled cheese), but I think it was missing something, so maybe I'll add garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I am a mother of three teens, and a wife. I have a very picky 12 year old, and he can't get enough of this soup. He asks me to make it often! I often get recipes from here to change things up a bit from the usual weekday meals. This tomato soup is absolutely phenomenal as is!!! Honestly, the ONLY thing I took out was the clove because I can't have them. I would suggest that everyone follows the recipe as is! I have to adjust the recipe to 24 servings. (I know that's a lot, but I have a husband that loves to eat, and three teens). And, it is wiped out within 20 minutes! I love this recipe, and highly recommend it! It is a very sophisticated soup, and is worthy of dinner parties. I give it two very high thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 713) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States