Garden Fresh Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I love this recipe...the taste is sooo good, the time to make is awesome and the amount is perfect. I have added other spices but always go back to the basic recipe. The last time I made it I used some Turkey broth from Thanksgiving ... it was delish! Everyone I have served this Fab soup to have loved it! Thanks Charlotte.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I also add a little roasted pepper... mmm mm. Home grown tomatoes make all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I had lots of garden tomatoes this year. I made this a LOT. Not just for grilled cheese, but as a basis for all kinds of recipes. I put a bunch of my tomatoes in the freezer and I'm still making this in December! I like to add a little bit of 2% milk to it at the end to give it a little creamy taste when I use it as a straight soup for grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Great soup, and I'm not a big fan of tomato soup. I tried this recipe because my husband loves tomato soup. I used 2 28 oz. cans of diced tomatos, a small can of tomato paste, and used a sweet Vidalia onion for my onion. Didn't have whole cloves, but used a few pinches of powdered cloves. Followed the recipe as written. It came out as a rich, thick tomato bisque. Chopped fresh basil mixed in at the end and used on top as a garnish as well made it extra delicious. Husband asked me to not buy canned soup anymore, and I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Wonderful soup. No food mill...blender works great. . The three guys in my house LOVE this with grilled cheese sandwiches. I hate soup from a can, but really enjoy this one. Thanks for great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I generally make soups in large quantities to freeze for future meals. For this one, I used tomatoes from our garden that I had frozen. I used about 18 lbs. of tomatoes, cored, peeled and diced them. Depending on type of tomatoes used, the skins can cause bitterness. I added about 8 cups of homemade chicken stock that had been reduced and 6 cups of water. I added 2 large onions sliced, 16 cloves, about 1/4 cup of chopped garlic, 2 tbsp. sea salt, 4 tbsp. sugar (sugar cuts the acidity of the tomatoes), and 4 tbsp. of Braggs Apple Cider Vinegar. I didn't have fresh basil on hand, so I added about 3 tbsp. of dried after the mixture started boiling. I let the mixture boil gently for about 45 minutes to completely soften the onions and garlic. Then used an immersion blender to blend everything. I had 2 cups of whipping cream that would soon go bad. So I mixed it in after the blending. I mixed the roux in a separate pot using garbanzo bean flour and all-purpose estimating about 6 times the recipe, and followed the recipe instructions. The resulting soup was wonderful. This is a recipe that would be difficult to mess up if only using the ingredient quantities as a guideline. I seldom accurately measure anything, except in bread baking, and go primarily on appearance and taste. This is a good basic recipe. If you are a new cook, the recipe as-is is great. If you are experienced, the measurements are not so important as the look and taste. Rice can be added for tomato rice soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy2304

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
It was okay. I may have made too much of the rue, but it didn't have that rich tomato flavor I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pooka324

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
GREAT! Made this and it turned out delicious! Will double the recipe to have more of this great tasting soup. My husband bought canned tomatoe soup as a backup and he said I should have known it would be good. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Very good recipe. couldn't stop tasting it. this is so easy recipe and tasty too and it is definitely a keeper. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
i tried it it was amazing thnks Charlote
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States