Garden Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2002
Wonderful salad! My husband had a bowl of it before it had even gone into the fridge to marinate and declared it delicious. I couldn't find my balsamic vinegar so I used red wine vinegar instead. It was even better the next day. I will definitely bring this to summer picnics and potlucks. Next time I make it, which will be very soon, I'll use the balsamic and perhaps a touch of freshly ground pepper. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Wonderful salad! I thought at first it was a summer recipe, but actually looks fit for winter, too (lots of red and green.) Flavor is great! Husband and I both love it. We will definately make it again...might add pepperoni next time.. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
Very good and very easy to improvise to accomodate whatever is in the fridge. I used crumbled bleu cheese rather than shredded cheese and imagine that feta would be good as well. Easy and tasty, what more could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
My husband and I thought this was GREAT! I am not a big fan of tomatoes, so I only used 1/2 what the recipe called for and doubled the cucumber, which I love. Easy recipe to put in whatever you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
I am snacking on the leftovers of this WONDERFUL salad, as "we speak" - my "celebrity" and family company yesterday enjoyed it immensely. The only change I made was to add red, orange and yellow peppers to the green one which of course, made for an extremely colorful presentation. The taste was so fresh - wonderful recipe - thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
Good...this was the base idea and I made changes which turned out well. Used only 1 green pepper (all I had), zuchinni instead of cucumber, 1 tomato, and 1/2 REGULAR onion; marble cheddar cheese instead of monterey jack (again didn't have it). Did not have italian dressing mix, so I used a garlic balsamic vinegar that was hanging around in the fridge, 1/8 cup of it and 1/8 cup of the vinegar, and that was great. But any store-bought, liquid italian dressing would work great too. Everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
YUMMMMM! I love this salad! Of course, I reduced the red onion by at least 1/2 because it was too strong 1st time. It's great for summer get-togethers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
This is pretty good. It's a great way to use up veggies. I made it as a side dish for club sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Garden Delight Haiku: "Wavered on my score. Closer to a 3.5. Thought it was okay." I skipped the monterey jack cheese all-together, and served this alongside a bowl of feta for anybody wanting a sprinkle - I was surprised that none of my party guests were interested in trying this, and one finally fessed up that it was the celery that put him off. W/ the time spent chopping, and letting it "marinate" longer in the fridge for the flavors to meld, I don't know if it'd be worth making again, but I actually enjoyed mixing the leftovers w/ romaine lettuce as an actual salad, since the vinegars and dressing mix jived really well that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States