Garden Basket Pasta with Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
A very delicious pasta dish that is also quite low-fat! Instead of olive oil, I used cooking spray. I cut the salt from 1/2 tsp to 1/4 tsp and used just a pinch of red pepper flakes instead of 1/4 tsp. I omitted the minced carrots, fresh parsley, and fresh basil because I did not have any. I added 2 teaspoons of dried parsley and 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano with the tomatoes. After turning off the heat, I added some fresh snipped chives. I will definitely make this pasta again because it is so healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was a hit in my house - but made pretty much as directed, 3 of us polished it off (over 9 oz. pasta) and my 14yo nephew was still hungry. If you serve 8 with this, you're not getting enough veggies! I used a 14.5-oz can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh (crop failure in my garden this year :-( ) and no salt. And of course cheese on top! A tablespoon or 2 of tomato paste would have been a nice addition to thicken and for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
A nice balance of sweet veggies and spices are delicious with the clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Excellent!! The flavors really blend well in this. I added a little more garlic and red pepper than the recipe called for, but other than that, no variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junebug883

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
I really thought this recipe was wonderful ! I did add real clams instead of jarred. It really added to the presentation. This is a keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I don't normally bother leaving reviews for anything...but I loved this recipe so much that I had to tell everyone how awesome it is. Healthy, flavourful, and just enough spicyness...perfect! Also, very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
This is an excellent recipe! I used a Cubanelle Pepper in place of the bell, I'm allergic. My son said I should always make a double batch of this recipe because it's just too good. Thank you, Star for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
WOW I don't usually like clams and I loved this recipe. I followed the recipe except I didn't add tomatoes (didn't have any) and I used vermecelli instead of fettucine. The only thing I would do different next time is cut back on the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This recipe was super easy to make and combined numerous healthy ingredients creating a great flavor! As soon as I simmered the garlic and onion, I knew it was going to be good! The red pepper adds a bit of a kick for a great surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Made this for dinner this evening and it was fantastic. Followed the directions, except I used a small can of Italian tomtoes)with basil,garlic,etc) and added 2 tablespoons of tomato paste to thicken the sauce. I also added some fresh asparagus. Served with garic bread. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States