Garden Basket Pasta with Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
this is a great recipe, and even better with real clams. Use ~ 1 lb. per person, and soak the clams in cold water sprinkled with cornmeal. The clams will 'eat' the cornmeal and spit out any sand, so you are cleaning the clams and also adding a built-in thickener to your sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
It was wonderfully healthy and light but not very "clammy." We could barely find the clams in all the sauce. Next time I'll double the clams and reduce the liquid (to add flavor but keep the moisture the same). Good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
A very delicious pasta dish that is also quite low-fat! Instead of olive oil, I used cooking spray. I cut the salt from 1/2 tsp to 1/4 tsp and used just a pinch of red pepper flakes instead of 1/4 tsp. I omitted the minced carrots, fresh parsley, and fresh basil because I did not have any. I added 2 teaspoons of dried parsley and 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano with the tomatoes. After turning off the heat, I added some fresh snipped chives. I will definitely make this pasta again because it is so healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
I really thought this recipe was wonderful ! I did add real clams instead of jarred. It really added to the presentation. This is a keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I thoroughly enjoyed this but hubby thought it was too much pasta, not enough sauce. I didn't have fresh tomatoes so I chopped up a can of whole, peeled tomatoes. I used a yellow red bell pepper instead of red because that's what I had. I didn't have fresh basil so I used basil in a tube (it's semi-fresh & has worked in every recipe I have tried it in...it's available in the produce department). I also didn't have fresh parsley so I used dried, adding it a couple of minutes before I added the clams & basil. I added a splash of white wine (about 1/2 c.) when I added the tomatoes & used 12 oz. linguine instead of fettucine. I thought it was just perfect but to accomodate my husband, next time I will decrease the pasta even more. All the accompaniments it needed was a glass of wine, a fresh salad & a croissant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
I don't normally bother leaving reviews for anything...but I loved this recipe so much that I had to tell everyone how awesome it is. Healthy, flavourful, and just enough spicyness...perfect! Also, very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
This makes alot so plan to eat it or scale down. I liked the flavors and the heat. It's nice to find flavorful low fat recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
There is something about fresh ingredients that make a dish refreshing. I made as written and would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
loved this recipe! I used about 40 real clams that I steamed open so the recipe was sufficiently "clammy". (used the water from steaming instead of canned clam juice)All of the veggies worked really well together and it was a pretty easy recipe to follow. Needless to say my guests were all impressed by this delicious summer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Although I didn't follow the recipe exactly, I'm giving it a 4 for versatility. I used ingredients I had on hand, including zucchini and squash instead of carrots and bell pepper. Also, I halved the recipe and used a full can of diced Italian tomatoes in lieu of fresh. I thought the fresh basil made the dish. I will make this again, and will try to find larger clams instead of minced. This tasted better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States