Garden Basket Pasta with Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Made this for dinner this evening and it was fantastic. Followed the directions, except I used a small can of Italian tomtoes)with basil,garlic,etc) and added 2 tablespoons of tomato paste to thicken the sauce. I also added some fresh asparagus. Served with garic bread. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Although I didn't follow the recipe exactly, I'm giving it a 4 for versatility. I used ingredients I had on hand, including zucchini and squash instead of carrots and bell pepper. Also, I halved the recipe and used a full can of diced Italian tomatoes in lieu of fresh. I thought the fresh basil made the dish. I will make this again, and will try to find larger clams instead of minced. This tasted better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This recipe was super easy to make and combined numerous healthy ingredients creating a great flavor! As soon as I simmered the garlic and onion, I knew it was going to be good! The red pepper adds a bit of a kick for a great surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I thoroughly enjoyed this but hubby thought it was too much pasta, not enough sauce. I didn't have fresh tomatoes so I chopped up a can of whole, peeled tomatoes. I used a yellow red bell pepper instead of red because that's what I had. I didn't have fresh basil so I used basil in a tube (it's semi-fresh & has worked in every recipe I have tried it in...it's available in the produce department). I also didn't have fresh parsley so I used dried, adding it a couple of minutes before I added the clams & basil. I added a splash of white wine (about 1/2 c.) when I added the tomatoes & used 12 oz. linguine instead of fettucine. I thought it was just perfect but to accomodate my husband, next time I will decrease the pasta even more. All the accompaniments it needed was a glass of wine, a fresh salad & a croissant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
WOW I don't usually like clams and I loved this recipe. I followed the recipe except I didn't add tomatoes (didn't have any) and I used vermecelli instead of fettucine. The only thing I would do different next time is cut back on the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
We used fresh clams and the broth to make this tastey dish. We left out the carrots and added a bit more of the red pepper flakes. Very good Star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2004
This is an excellent recipe! I used a Cubanelle Pepper in place of the bell, I'm allergic. My son said I should always make a double batch of this recipe because it's just too good. Thank you, Star for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
easy to prepair,,very flavorful. red pepper makes it tangy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
I found this to be good - but slightly plain. I will make again, but may serve with a less-heavy pasta such as angel hair so that the taste of the sauce stands out more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
Very good. A nice twist on the classic linguini with clam sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States