Garden Basket Pasta with Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Made this for dinner this evening and it was fantastic. Followed the directions, except I used a small can of Italian tomtoes)with basil,garlic,etc) and added 2 tablespoons of tomato paste to thicken the sauce. I also added some fresh asparagus. Served with garic bread. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Although I didn't follow the recipe exactly, I'm giving it a 4 for versatility. I used ingredients I had on hand, including zucchini and squash instead of carrots and bell pepper. Also, I halved the recipe and used a full can of diced Italian tomatoes in lieu of fresh. I thought the fresh basil made the dish. I will make this again, and will try to find larger clams instead of minced. This tasted better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This recipe was super easy to make and combined numerous healthy ingredients creating a great flavor! As soon as I simmered the garlic and onion, I knew it was going to be good! The red pepper adds a bit of a kick for a great surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I thoroughly enjoyed this but hubby thought it was too much pasta, not enough sauce. I didn't have fresh tomatoes so I chopped up a can of whole, peeled tomatoes. I used a yellow red bell pepper instead of red because that's what I had. I didn't have fresh basil so I used basil in a tube (it's semi-fresh & has worked in every recipe I have tried it in...it's available in the produce department). I also didn't have fresh parsley so I used dried, adding it a couple of minutes before I added the clams & basil. I added a splash of white wine (about 1/2 c.) when I added the tomatoes & used 12 oz. linguine instead of fettucine. I thought it was just perfect but to accomodate my husband, next time I will decrease the pasta even more. All the accompaniments it needed was a glass of wine, a fresh salad & a croissant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
WOW I don't usually like clams and I loved this recipe. I followed the recipe except I didn't add tomatoes (didn't have any) and I used vermecelli instead of fettucine. The only thing I would do different next time is cut back on the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
We used fresh clams and the broth to make this tastey dish. We left out the carrots and added a bit more of the red pepper flakes. Very good Star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2004
This is an excellent recipe! I used a Cubanelle Pepper in place of the bell, I'm allergic. My son said I should always make a double batch of this recipe because it's just too good. Thank you, Star for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
easy to prepair,,very flavorful. red pepper makes it tangy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
I found this to be good - but slightly plain. I will make again, but may serve with a less-heavy pasta such as angel hair so that the taste of the sauce stands out more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
Very good. A nice twist on the classic linguini with clam sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States