Garbanzos with Fennel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Very different, but totally interesting. At first I was not sure what to expect, but it turned out well. This recipe is great as is, and for me is an absolute keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Oh my goodness! This was so delicious, I'm almost at a loss for words. My boyfriend the soup junkie is my litmus test for soup recipes, and he loved this. I'm not sure I'd agree with other reviewers that you wouldn't like this if you didn't like fennel--I thought the flavors blended seamlessly, with no one taste standing out. However, if you don't have fresh basil and/or fennel, don't even think about substituting dried; it wouldn't even be close to the same stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This soup is wonderful! I halved it and still had way plenty for 2 of us for 3 meals. I couldn't get dried garbanzos, so I used canned (1 large or 2 regular size). To accommodate this change, I sautéed the onions, red pepper and fennel for a few minutes in a little olive oil, then added 4 cups of veg broth and simmered for 15. I added the canned beans (juice and all) and the tomato/garlic/basil mixture and finished for 5 minutes. Not only does this work well, it takes far less time and planning! I'll make this again for my vegetarian friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Altered the recipe slightly by adding more garlic, reducing broth, and using canned tomatoes (which have more flavor than fresh this time of year). I also added a small quantity of ham to add a smoky flavor. I can't wait to make this for my Bible study group!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I agree with previous reviewer - if you don't like fennel, garbanzo beans or basil, you are not going to like this. Fortunately, I do, and I liked this alot. I was surprised how well the flavors complemented each other, especially the fennel and peas. Oh, to save time I used canned chick peas, and I also added a little V8 tomato juice for more flavor. Thanks, Ornery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
The flavor was delicate, and I loved this soup. When I made it, I doubled the amount of garlic. I am a huge fan of fresh fennel, fresh basil, and garbonzo beans. However, if someone did not enjoy even one of these ingredients, they would not like this soup. I found that 1 cup chopped fresh basil is equal to about four ounces. Be sure to chop the fennel and the onion; being lazy here makes the soup look rather sloppy (this happened to me). Also, this soup makes 17 cups, so the 6 servings is a generous estimate. (Per 1 cup, there are 125 calories, 2 g fat, 21 g carb, 6 g fiber and 6 g protien).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I love this! It has such a nice home-made taste, and something that I'd pay for at a restaurant. It did make too much though, so I'll half it next time since my kids won't eat this (only the required bite to try it). My first time cooking with fennel and found a youtube video easily on how to cut it up. I bought fresh basil and am glad I did, it was wonderful! This is a perfect addition as a side to a meat or alone with bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Yum. Very tasty. I didn't follow the exact portions, and it turned out really easy. I used canned chick peas and tomatoes, and leeks instead of onion. Also served with a scoop of rice in the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I wanted to like it but the fennel was too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariposa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I really wanted to like this dish, but I have to say that it was disappointing in all respects. The fennel was over-powering, there was no depth to the flavors, and ingredients seemed to be added simply for color, not for its flavor influence. End result? Make this one as a "flush".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States