Garbanzo Tomato Pasta Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I knew this soup would need to cook longer to bring out the flavors. I didn't bother to saute` the onion and garlic, I just put all except the beans and pasta into my slow cooker. I used 1 teaspoon of basil and added 1 teaspoon of oregano and just let it cook on low for most of the day. An hour before serving I added the beans, let the cooker heat back to simmer then the last 30 minutes I added the pasta. Much more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2001
How can a recipe be sooooo easy yet sooooo yummy!!! This is a KEEPER! This is the first recipe that got me to me a regular on this site. I have served it to several people and each time someone always asks for the recipe. Thanks Joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
This was very tasty. Since we aren't strict vegetarians, I used Knorr caldo de pollo instead of the vegetable stock and threw in a little more pasta and used Italian spices because that is what I had. It was fun for my stepdaughter because some of the garbanzos get stuck in the shells and she made sure that all the shells had a bean in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
I used dried chickpeas which I soaked and cooked - I really dislike the texture of tinned beans and such - and I used water plus ca. 2 teaspoons of Vegeta seasoning mix rather than canned broth. I also about tripled the basil - next time I'll maybe add some oregano and paprika powder, possibly some chili as well. Unfortunately, our spice shelf is rather empty at the moment... Changed the method a little, too: Cooked the chickpeas, sautéed oinion and garlic in another saucepan, added tomatoes to the onion, added water, spices and cooked chickpeas, cooked the pasta and added that. This is a really yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Even using chicken broth instead of water the resulting soup seemed somewhat weak. I doubled the amount of garbanzos, added a little more pasta (which I had ready because of other reviews), added 3 tablespoons of tomato paste and at the last minute added a can of Italian Green Beans. This brought the flavor of this soup up quite nicely and was a hearty and satisfying meal. With these additions, my yield was 8 servings. Very good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Great soup recipe. I did add 1 tsp. of oregano and I added squash and zucchini to the sauteing onion and garlic. My husband finished off the leftovers all by himself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
I added to the four severing recipe: 1/2 Portabella Mushroom 1 Cup Bean Sprouts 3oz Firm Tofu It was delicious, everyone who has tried it loves it. Wonderful favor and a filling soup as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Very good and easy recipe. Used vegetable boullion cubes instead of vegetable broth. I didn't follow the proportions all that closely, but still ended up with a great-tasting meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
Five stars for this healthy recipe. I added another can of chickpeas as well as rosemary. I used two cups of water instead of vegetable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I did not find this had much flavour. My friend is a vegetarian and she didn't find it flavourful either. We tried adding more herbs and seasoning but there was still something missing from this recipe. Would not make it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States