Garbanzo Tomato Pasta Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Incredibly easy, especially if you make it in the slow cooker like I did. I upped the spices and added oregano, and instead of 3 cans of broth, I used 2 cans then did not drain the tomatoes. Made for a tomatoey, richer base. I added the chickpeas about an hour prior to serving, and the pasta about 20 minutes before. I didn't bother cooking the pasta prior to putting it in; it cooks up in 15-20 mins from the heat of the soup. As another reviewer commented, cooking all day in the slow cooker increased the flavor in this soup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Delicious! I used a vegetarian chicken-style stock instead of vegetable but am delighted with how this came up. I will be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was good and a very healthy meal! I didn't exactly follow the recipe though but the recipe was a great base to add on to. Instead of the pasta I added brown rice and I also added potatoes. I added a little more than half a can of tomato paste and I was generous with the spices and added 1 tsp. oregano. In addition to what the recipe called for, I added about 1 cup of celery, a can of corn, and about 5 carrots. It was yummy! I will definitely make this again! Next time I will add green beans and maybe throw in cabbage. This soup is wonderful because you really can add whatever you have in your fridge that you want to use up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This is a very easy soup to make, but the recipe as written doesn't have much flavor to it so I'd recommend doubling the spices and then let it simmer for a while to let the flavors develop properly. Once you do that the soup is very tasty and good for you. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Joy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jolisouci
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I followed Wilemon's advice exactly, and the resulting soup was fresh and tasty--but not nearly as flavorful as I would like. I added a few drops of Sriracha sauce to the bowl, and my bland soup became one of the best soups that I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolisouci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Capron, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Very good! I used tomato paste instead of who tomatoes (all I had at the time and everything is closed past 7:00 here) and it was still awesome! I little garlicky for my taste, but I balanced it out by adding some potatoes. First recipe I've used from here that I've bothered to review. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziegfeldgirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I added a few things which made it 10x more amazing! I used chicken broth, I added potatoes and celery and used pastina instead of the pasta shells. so delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe better the next day than the first. I think once it sat for 24 hours and the flavors melded together, it brought this soup from just okay to really delicious. More spices are needed - added lots of garlic and italian seasoning. Also, per another reviewer - added a few tablespoons tomato paste to thicken it up and topped with shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Very easy to make with very few ingredients. Suprisingly big flavor for what little herbs go into it, will definatly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bullard, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Delicious and very easy! I tripled this recipe, added 4 tablespoons of tomato paste and simmered for at least a 1/2 hour. Adding the tomato paste added a little more flavor and color and simmering brought out the flavors. Just a little bland without doing this. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States