Garbanzo Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
This dish was a hit at my office potluck! As the other cooks suggested, I added onions. I also doubled the garlic amount and added a small pinch of seasoned salt to bring out the flavors. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Exceedingly nice recipe. You eat it and feel like you're glowing, it's so healthy and delicious. Changes I have made include: more garlic, using dried basil and oregano at the start, and then adding the fresh herbs (basil and cilantro) at the very, very end, so they retain their flavor. Served with wild rice with butter, lemon, and cilantro, it's absolutely devine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
We felt very heathy eating this yummy veggie meal. I served it over angel hair pasta with a little bit of feta sprinkled on top. Tasted great, but the veggies were a little softer than I like. Steak and potatoes dad liked it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
PERFECT!!! I didn't have fresh herbs, used dry and everything was fine. I threw in a yellow squash and some halved black olives ... I don't cook with salt, and thought that this dish had so many great flavors it didn't need it. Fresh cracked pepper on top finished it off. I eat it in a bowl as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I have no idea how this turned out so well. It was incredible. I added some cayenne pepper, it was so great. I have never had a veg dish this good! I always use mushrooms AND onions. This is not only a fav of mine, but everyone who has tried it has loved it. I am not a "veg" person, but this dish is incredible. YOU MUST TRY THIS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This dish tasted fantastic, once I tweaked it to my liking :) I added 3/4 cup of onion, and sauted it with 3 garlic cloves in just 1 tbsp of olive oil. Once that browned up a bit, I added fresh grated ginger :), then I cooked the recipe accordingly. After everything cooked up nice and hot, I added a pinch of salt and pepper. ALSO, your nutritional info is WAY off. Cal - 206; Total Fat - 6g; Carb - 32g; Fibre - 9g; Sugars - 2g; Protein - 9g
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
This was not very good. I served it wrapped in tortilla wraps with some sour cream and that seemed to help but I don't think that I will make this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
Oh. My. God. I love this! Thank you so much!! It's a nice, fresh tasting meal. Yum. I do add a lot more mushrooms and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Delicious! Tailor ingredients to your preferences. I omitted oregano & cilantro, increased garlic to 4 cloves, and served with instant brown rice & Romano cheese. Very healthy, since rice and legumes like garbanzo beans make a complete protein. My teenager liked it in a soft tortilla with mozzarella cheese. If you steam the zucchini in a large frying pan with a cover til crunchy, you don't need to use a lot of olive oil. Took a sample to work and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSETTAW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
Not spectacular, but reasonably good. I didn't like how the garbanzos retained their canned-bean taste. I think it would have been better made with dried garbanzos. Mine was somewhat bland also, and could have used some salt. I'd probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

This quick-and-easy sandwich spread is a great alternative to tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States