Garbanzo Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
I added another can of undrained tomatoes plus two cups of water, basil and thyme. The soup tasted good and was very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
I made this pretty much as written, substituting orzo for the acini di pepe. It makes a very thick soup, very good for a quick pantry dinner. It could easily be thinned for a more "soup-like" meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Great soup! I only had 1 can of beans, so it wasn't as thick as originally stated, but it was still yummy! I also tossed in some veggies (carrots, celery, yellow squash, & zucchini) that I needed get rid of, as well as some garlic. I love thick soups, so I definitely want to make this again with the extra can of beans to make it thicker! Rather than mashing 1/2 of the beans in a food processor, I just put my beans into a small Ziplock baggie & rolled my can of tomatoes over the bag until they were mashed. Very easy...and no cleanup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
ADD LIQUID! Otherwise awesome! I loved loved loved this soup. However, after reading the reviews I added two extra cans of tomatoes and one can of chicken broth. Came out a nice thick soup consistency. I served with with lamb chops but it's definitely hardy enough to stand on it's own with some nice crusty bread. I used whole wheat small shells which is what I had on hand and it was great and also healthy! I also added roasted minced garlic and a few dashes of hot sauce. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
A very appealing recipe that just didn't deliver. It was VERY thick. I had to keep adding water. More a paste than a soup. It also had no 'kick'. I think with garlic, onions, maybe more tomato, it could be better. As is, it could be used as a dip of some sort, but not as a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Very good soup. I added additional water, a chicken boullion cube, dried rosemary, carrots and minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This was good, for those of us who like garbanzos, but was VERY thick. We used it as a sidedish, but not until I added a few dashes of hot sauce, another can of the diced tomatoes, and some italian herbs. I also tried it cold the next day thinking it might make an interesting summer side dish, but we didn't find it very appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I thought this was a good recipe and would definitely make it again. I substituted basil, parsley, thyme for the rosemary(didn't have any) and added extra water. I also didn't go thru the trouble of using a blender to puree the beans, I simply mashed them up like you would for mashed potatoes. Once done I sprinkled parmesan cheese. Light and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca-l

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
When I came to review this recipe I realized I forgot the pasta! Whoops - but it was great. I used dry garbanzo beans, 1 lb soaked overnight and cooked in the crock pot all day. Then I used both 1 can peeled tomatoes and a can of tomato paste as I had more beans. I also added onion, garlic, celery and carrots and more spices as others have suggested. When it was about time to eat I blended it a bit with my hand held blender - about half the beans were chopped into small grains, a very nice texture. Is it the same recipe? Not exactly but it was wonderful. This recipe is a great place to start. I've never made soup with garbanzos before but I will again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This is a very basic soup that's tasty but if you add some veggies it makes it great!!! I had a little bit of a lot of things I needed to use up, I added frozen spinach that was thawed, chopped red pepper, chopped onion, some small zucchinis and used a small swirly pasta. Made this for lunches for the rest of this week, but it was so good I ate the rest for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States