Garbanzo Bean Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Followed the recipe except added 1Tbsp chopped fresh parsley and a small pinch of salt; and used cucumber instead of celery. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This salad got rave reviews from my friends, who didn't realize that garbanzo beans are the same as chick peas. And quite easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I tried this because I had the ingredients on hand and it was so low fat. I found it very disappointing. The vinegar and onions were overpowering and the combination of beans and dill was very odd. There are better bean salad out there. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Very good and refreshing. I sauteed the onions, celery and garlic until just tender and refrigerated overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This recipe is great! I must admit i'm not a huge bean salad person, but this is changing my mind. I ommitted the dill and used normal onions andg garlic which i sauteed. I also added pinapple and black beans. The pineapple made the garbanzo beans pop really well! This is most definietly a family favorite from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seagrapesmoothei

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Pretty good. I added twice the vinegar than the recipe called for and liked it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This recipe is very refreshing! I made this as a last-minute addition to our meal, and it took no time to put together. This recipe is very amenable to modifications - we put in an extra tbsp of pasta sauce, 2 tbsp of rice vinegar, parsley, and sundried tomatoes and didn't use celery and dill, and it turned out great. The vinegar is essential b/c otherwise the garlic and onions taste too raw. We might try sauteeing the garlic and onions first next time. Would definitely make this again... could be a great entertaining dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I had never done anything with Garbanzo beans & happened upon this recipe. Me and my boyfriend really enjoyed it. I used cucumbers instead of celery & halfed the amount of dill because it seemed like alot. It was zesty - great sidedish for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I really only made it to use up some pasta sauce. It was ok, but there are better chick pea recipes out there. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gary Jensen Jr
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Pretty good recipe but definatly needs the parmesan & romano to be added to the recipe, other than that, Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashville, New York, USA
Living In: Newmarket, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States