Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I loved this recipe. I did add 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract. So much for my supply of garbanzo beans, going toward making hummus.The cans will be divided between this cake & hummus now. Who knew that using beans could make such a great cake??? I like it better than regular chocolate cake. I sliced fresh strawberries over the cake. My husband was leery of it but admitted it was great. We have family & friends who are gluten intolerant and it will be nice to have something special for them, that is, if there is any left after others get a taste of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
So good!!! I cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and added about 1/4 t of baking powder it made the cake so moist and delicate took it to Easter dinner and my whole family couldn't get enough and could not believe it was made of garbanzo beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope Carroll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I really loved this recipe as written. I had to blend things with a blender and it made no difference. The cake was light and delicious. Next time, I will add raspberries to the confectioners sugar. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This turned out good and the tastes is great. I melted my chocolate with 1/4 cup of olive oil and added 1 tsp of baking powder and vanilla. Yummie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I can't believe people called the cake dry! This is a fantastic recipe, which I had to try because who puts beans in chocolate cake? People who know how to cook! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This is incredibly delicious and chocolatey. I used 60% cocoa Ghiradelli chips. Used my Vitamix blender to mix ingredients. Was a very firm, almost cheesecake like texture. Yummy with vanilla bean frozen yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This is a great recipe! It was a big hit with our G.F. guests, all of the children and adults. I used parchment paper in the bottom of the pan and it was easy to transfer to a plate after cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
The second time I made this I had no garbanzo beans so used pinto beans. I had them in the freezer, from cooking a bag of dried beans and it was just as good as the garbanzo beans. May need a little more sweetener with the pinto beans. I am not a sweet eater so I always cut the sugar back, but that is simply a personal preference. Be sure to blend very well. I just used my Ninja that has a bowl for this kind of thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Wonderful cake. Thought the idea of making the cake with the beans was awesome, but you can still kind of tell. Will try the regular way next time, but may still come back and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This "Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake" was delicious. No one believes me when I tell them this cake is made with a can of garbanzo beans instead of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug

Displaying results 1-10 (of 648) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States