Garbanzo Bean Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Wow! So impressed! I am a red meat gal...like 80/20 burger gal but I'm turning over a new health leaf and so have been branching out and wanted to give these a whirl. I was sold when I saw the additions to the actual beans, it is full of flavor and makes you want another bite! I did add some plain bread crumbs to mine to help bind. I also just cooked mine on the stove with a bit of olive oil. They were still rather hard to keep formed and did smash out of the bun but still super good! I mixed some sriracha and mayo and used that as my topping, but I could see that if someone wanted to forego the bun or sauce these would allow that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
We made these for dinner tonight and made some changes due to reading the reviews. My recipe came out too juicy so I added an extra tablespoon tahini paste, love that stuff, and approx. 1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs and it came out just perfect. It was firm enough and sticky enough to hold together for patties. They stuck together well and never fell apart. Forgot about the chili but next time I will add hot sauce since we can't seem to tolerate the real chili pepper. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
These were good!! I did use an egg as a binder and a couple tbs of bread crumbs! very tasty!! you can get pretty creative with these and add what you like to them!! I will make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
SO SIMPLE! I didn't have tahini paste, carrots, bell peppers, or chili peppers in my kitchen, but these turned out great. I feel like you could add different spices etc. to the mixture too. I do not own a food processor, but I was able to roll out the ingredients together on a cookie sheet, it bonded pretty well. I served them in a lettuce leaf "bun" with some vegan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This was tasty but they didn't hold together at all. They disintegrated when I flipped them. I scooped them back together again and then when they came out again reshaped once more. I topped them with cheese slices, which helped. Once they cooled a bit I was able to spatula them onto a bun. Tasty, just need some more "glue". My toddlers ate them, too- bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I thought they were decent, along with my mother & father in law but my husband & kids thought it was awful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaelynnM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Pretty good! We didn't have Tahini on hand and the stores around us don't carry it, so I skipped that and the chile pepper (not a fan of spicy). I enjoyed it though, easy to throw together and (fairly) quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I had a hard time with these. I followed instructions, although instead of carrot added some chopped onion I wanted to use up. Also had a jalapeno instead of red chile pepper. I should have listened to the other reviews regarding adding an egg and breadcrumbs...these totally fell apart. After baking them the 20 minutes, I tried to flip them as instructed and they were complete mush. I broiled them for a few minutes then tried again. I had two of them that only cracked in half, but the rest were in pieces. The taste was alright, but texture was off. They were somewhat salvaged with a sour cream/cilantro/lime juice topping, but I don't think I'll be making them again. Just didn't suit my tastes, I guess. Sorry, but thanks for sharing anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I don't like peppers and didn't have any on hand, but I added an avocado and left the rest as is. It was good, and was moist enough to stick together while cooking. I think I overdid it on the garlic though, I'll be adding less next time. I tried using a sandwich grill, frying, and baking, and I actually liked it baked the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I tried to fry these, but they were very wet. The flavor was OK. I think I will bread them with cornmeal and try baking them for dinner (I only ended up cooking 1)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States