Garbage Plate Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Mrs Jones must be a Rochester, NY native. All the right ingredients, I just like mine with a lot more chili powder and cayenne. Personal thing. I also add a 1/2 cup of beef broth in place of water initially.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I ( being from Rochester N.Y ) had to try this, and it was great, Almost as good as the original Nick Tahou plate, although I had to add more Chili & Cayenne to get it spicy enough (as well as one of my own special additives of just a drop or two of Dave's Insanity Sauce for that super spicy kick) Although the name of a dish called " A Garbage Plate " sounds terrible it is and has been a great tasting dish that is loved by most all of Rochester N.Y. residents so much it has touched off copy-cat dishes at quite a few area restaurants if ever in Rochester try the original, you won't be sorry ( As the saying goes among area college students say... "You haven't experienced Rochester until you have had a Garbage Plate" )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Juan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I being from Rochester N.Y also had to give this a try.I also added more chili powder and more cayenne to spice it up. I also added some mustard and onion powder. I think this is a great base sauce to start with. I've tryed many recipes for this type of sauce and always seem to feel that some thing is missing. I feel that Vic and Irvs is the best and I can't find anything close to it.Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I am a Rochester born native that is living in Ohio. I met my boyfriend at a party at RIT and we have been dying for a garbage plate since we have moved to Ohio (he's originally from Cleveland). We've tried other imitations but this recipe is by far the best. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcn5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I'm from Rochester, NY and this is very good hot sauce. I add about a 1/2 cup frank's Red Hot. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Owls Head, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This was so good! Being from Rochester, I was skeptical, but I wanted to give it a try. Yummy! It tastes better at Vic & Irv's and NT only because I don't have to make it myself or do the dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKaterle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Not being from Rochester I found this sauce mediocre at best. It has WAY too much black pepper but could use some more chili pepper. I added 8 oz of canned tomato sauce to calm the black pepper. I doubt that I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by adonai2me
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
My husband, a Rochester native, introduced me to the garbage plate sauce. I haven't had a garbage plate yet, but I love this sauce smothered on eggs and Zweigle white hots (another Rochester delicacy) or any hot dog. This recipe looks, smells, and tastes like the original from what I can tell. I suppose I'd have to eat them side by side to know for sure. It's so easy - barely any prep - and freezes well, too! The only thing I did differently is used less water than called for in the recipe. I didn't pour it all in at once, adding 1/2 cup at a time until I reached the consistency I like. It's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daisy K
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was pretty good. All the spices were a bit different with the beef but still good. I have never had a "garbage plate" so I had to google it to see what to make with it. I chose to do home fries, cheeseburgers and macaroni salad. Adding ketchup and mustard were the final touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Valley Center, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I am from Rochester, and living in New Jersey now, I get cravings for garbage plates!!! This sauce is perfect!!! I am going to make this very regularly and have it on hand constantly! Must eat with mac salad, homefries, cheeseburger or hot dogs!!! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe! My husband also thanks you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Carolina-Style BBQ Sauce

See how to make tangy Carolina-style barbeque sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States