Garbage Can Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2005
You don't need to go through that much work. Need the garbage can- no lid. Put stake 2" X 2" in ground 15" high. Place foil around steak and a piece over top if you don't want bird to touch wood. Foil around base of stake is in case bird gets so done it slides down stake. Place garbage can over turkey mounted on stake with legs down. Light 10 - 12#'s charcoal till turning white. Shoval about 3 briquette's wide around bottom of can with a shoval full on top. Let cook for 1 1/2 hours without removing can. Turkey will be done. No charcoal inside of can. If you wish set a can or 2 of beer inside can with turkey for additional moisture. I found it does't make a difference. Size of turkey is also irrelevant. I've done these in freezing temperatures outside and have always had great results. Bird size doesn't matter. Watch out for the dogs once the stake is in the ground.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
My dad loves to make this recipe. It's great to make when you are camping. So easy and the turkey turns out so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDREFFITT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Missouri, USA
Living In: Raytown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This way to cook turkey is amazing! It's so moist and has a wonderful smokey flavor!! The important thing about the trash can is to burn off any galvinizing before the first time cooking with it. All you have to do is get a really hot fire going inside of it, then when the fire is out, dump the ashes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
I have done this garbage can turkey for years.But I have went a little bit modern I now use a stainless steel stake and a stainless steel can. The turkey always comes out perfect. I also use 20# of k9ingsford chaircoal & leave it for 2 hrs. without opening the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This is a great way to make turkey, it comes out moist and juicy. I used a beer keg with the bottom cut out and charcoal around the bottom and on top of the keg then added a thermometer on the side to watch the temperature. The turkey came out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I have made turkeys like this for years for our Boy Scout troop. It is easy, delicious, fun, great for camping, and always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Please do not use a galvanized garbage can. The zinc fumes are toxic. It will also seep into the turkey and thus you can get poisoned eating it. If you are using a galvanized garbage can, please burn the inside off first! Just don't inhale the fumes! We would hate to have someone in the hospital on Thanksgiving Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I've done this many times while camping through the summers. We have found that it doesn't seem to matter if it's hot out or cold and snowy. It always works out great. You should also try it with a couple chickens, one on top of the other, and reduce cook time to about 1 hour. Also good using a pork loin or eye of the round, again reducing cook time. Season to taste. Be careful when removing can. Ashes can blow around, especially on a windy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I have been doing this for years. We camp and do it there most of the time. the night before we actually cook the turkey we have a huge camp fire and burn all the bad things off the can in the bon fire, by the next day the can is ready to cook the turkey. It comes out perfect every single time. No need to add any beer cans or anything to it. Juicy, smokey and just simply wonderful every single time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
If you use a wood dowel 3/4" and put a bunt cake pan at the bottom, it can catch the juices and make an awesome turkey. Did it last year and was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States