Garbage Can Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This way to cook turkey is amazing! It's so moist and has a wonderful smokey flavor!! The important thing about the trash can is to burn off any galvinizing before the first time cooking with it. All you have to do is get a really hot fire going inside of it, then when the fire is out, dump the ashes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I have made turkeys like this for years for our Boy Scout troop. It is easy, delicious, fun, great for camping, and always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This is a great way to make turkey, it comes out moist and juicy. I used a beer keg with the bottom cut out and charcoal around the bottom and on top of the keg then added a thermometer on the side to watch the temperature. The turkey came out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
If you use a wood dowel 3/4" and put a bunt cake pan at the bottom, it can catch the juices and make an awesome turkey. Did it last year and was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
my husband loves making turkey this way. it is good but I like the traditional way. still tender & juicy very the second time around. good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosella

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
I have done this garbage can turkey for years.But I have went a little bit modern I now use a stainless steel stake and a stainless steel can. The turkey always comes out perfect. I also use 20# of k9ingsford chaircoal & leave it for 2 hrs. without opening the can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I was at a friend's cottage this summer and her husband made this - when she said we were having garbage can turkey, a few of us looked at each other in trepidation, but it was AWESOME! The turkey was moist and falling off the bone. And what a great way to have a turkey on a summer day without heating up your house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I have been doing this for years. We camp and do it there most of the time. the night before we actually cook the turkey we have a huge camp fire and burn all the bad things off the can in the bon fire, by the next day the can is ready to cook the turkey. It comes out perfect every single time. No need to add any beer cans or anything to it. Juicy, smokey and just simply wonderful every single time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
THIS WAS AWESOME!!! Will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Great recipe! As a scout leader I have done over 100 various versions of this recipe over the years. To create a more perfect wheel, I combined a bunt pan and a mechs jack stand to create a reusable turkey stand. The jack stand is seperated to allow the bunt pan to slide over the jack stands shaft. then the top is repinned back in its upright postion. Wrap the whole thing in foil and waaallaaa! Insert the over the top of the stand and your all set. The stand is ajustable for chicken, of bigger birds, and the bunt pan catches all the drippings, thus allowing the makeings for gravy too! The bunt pan also stops the bird from sliding onto the foil below. Try this if you use it alot, and try a herb and butter rub between the skin and meat too! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States