Garam Masala Spice Blend Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This is better than the stuff I buy at the market, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Mackey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I love the fragrance of this mixture while you're grinding it. I don't prepare Indian dishes as often as I'd like, but having this blend ready will make it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This is just right. I sift mine through a screen to get out some of the big stuff and the coriander seed husks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This was a great blend for Garam Masala (warming spice). I used it in an Indian Spice Rub and for making my Curry Powder blend. I did this recipe as a part of the Western Region's Faceless Frenzy July 2012.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Loved this! I used ground cardamom (what I had on hand) & just added it with the turmeric. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Wow...I am from Yakima too..living in Las Vegas! I knew that I had to try cooking something with this delectable concoction. My husband and I love curries of any kind so this was the next logical step. Thanks for the wonderful recipe. I recently bought a coffee grinder at a yard sale for $2 and this will be it's maiden voyage. Thanks again Michelle...Happy Spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather Parra
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
This was so much fun to make. And since I can make my own now I can cook as much Indian as I like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Parra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
A good recipe, nice and flavourful, but needs some work. I think it was quite heavy on the coriander seed. It overpowered all other flavours in my final dish. The turmeric was a little heavy too. I'll redo this recipe with those two ingredients dialed back a bit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan VanDijk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala Sauce

Learn how to make this fragrant, delicious, Indian-inspired chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States