Garam Masala Seared Salmon with Coconut-Curry Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
The coconut flavor was too subtle to require the purchase of a whole can of coconut milk only to use a portion of it. I replaced the coconut milk with an equal amount of additional creme; and, the result was actually a much better sauce. Additionally, I increased the amount of Garam Masala used for dusting the Salmon Filets; next time I'll add a little bit of flour to make a crust on them. This recipe is an excellent one and has become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1GoodCooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowland Heights, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Great recipe with lots of flavor. I followed the recipe and I used Thai Kitchen brand Premium coconut milk which maybe made the difference. Not sure what brand of coconut milk others used but the sauce I made had a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was very nice! I just couldn't bring myself to use an entire cup of butter, I used less than half and a full can of lite coconut milk (no cream). I ended up having to add a little cornstarch but it worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vicci
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I made this with Tilapia fish steaks, and used Organic Coconut milk. The dish was awesome and so flavorful. I felt I was in an Indian restaurant with all the nice aromas! My husband loved it. It was so much sauce we needed bread to sop it up! YUM!! :) Will definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tinton Falls, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This was good. Pretty easy too. I cut down on the butter a little and it still worked. I cut the recipe in half and only used 3 TBS butter. I doubled the coconut milk though. I've been wanting to try this recipe for a while and I'm glad I finally did. Served with Matar Pulao (Rice with Peas) from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I was a little disapppointed in this recipe. I loved the idea, but it didn't exactly work out as planned. I did enjoy the garam masala with the salmon - that part was delicious. But the butter sauce was not good... perhaps my choice of white wine was not good, but that's all I could taste, and it overwhelmed any butter or coconut milk flavor. I was only able to save the sauce by using a couple teaspoons of white sugar. After that, we enjoyed it on the salmon, but I'm not sure we'll make this again. Thanks for giving me an opportunity to use garam masala, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I thought it was pretty bland - could be because I'm Indian and thought this would have a lot of flavour with the garam masala but that wasn't the case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Wow - this was divine. I've been using this website for 4 months now and this was easily the best recipe I've tried. I didn't change anything, it was delicious as is. When I served this to my boyfriend he said it looked truly gourmet and after he ate it he said it is one of the best dishes he's ever eaten (I've cooked hundreds of meals for him and he's never said that before). I served it with boiled new potatoes and sauteed green beans and poured the sauce over everything. Also the sauce seems versatile, I believe it could be used with other fishes and even chicken, pork or lamb. Thank you Ryan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I substituted shrimp instead of salmon we all really liked it...I'm making it again in a couple weeks=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
The idea of this sounded so good, but none of us were very impressed with this, we didn't think it was worth the work or expensive ingredients. It was just disappointing for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States