Garam Masala Seared Salmon with Coconut-Curry Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This was very good. I substituted the cup of butter for natural yogurt and I also added a little brown sugar. I mixed the garam masala with wholewheat flour for a crispy crust to the salmon. Thanks, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bedelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
LOVED IT! Have shared the recipe (and my jar of Garam Masala) with a dear friend. Had it with rice and steamed broccoli. Delicious and different. Thanks Ryan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unfurledgirl
Home Town: Granville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Yum! This tasted great; I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I used Rainbow Trout instead of Salmon, and baked the Trout instead of searing it. But when i baked it, i forgot to rub it with garam masala. The sauce is really good, however, it took me about 20 min to reduce it. I also had to use some sugar and salt to add a bit of taste to the sauce. It was really great on the fish. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I have made this recipe two times now, for the first time I followed it almost exactly, for the second time I made it with modifications and found it great. I would like to say, if you are looking for an authentic Indian recipe, this is not this. This is a good fusion recipe using Indian ingredients and French technique. My modifications: 1/2 cup coconut milk and 1/3 cup cream for more coconut flavor, I found the coconut flavor a little subtle with 1/3 cup. And I used just 1/3 cup butter and it was enough. 1 cup butter makes the sauce very fatty. The butter makes the sauce thick, but if you serve the sauce hot, the butter melts and the sauce won`t be thick both with 1 and 1/3 cup. So I found no much difference how many butter you use. Overall, this is a good recipe with very interesting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I loved this recipe! Instead of using salmon, I used chicken. I only used 1 tablespoon of garam masala on the chicken. It looked like 2 tbs would be too much. I also used salted butter rather than unsalted butter. I ate mine with just regular frozen green peas and on rice. I think next time, a nice yogurt drink would taste great w/ it and would make this recipe PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelayna
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Hmm, yummy. Despite of the alterations I made this recipe still turned out great. I used milk and the sauce was a bit runny but when drizzled on rice it was just fine. I didn't pan-fried the fish, but baked it instead. I'm going to have this dish again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
GREAT....I can hardly wait to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I thought it was pretty bland - could be because I'm Indian and thought this would have a lot of flavour with the garam masala but that wasn't the case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Pretty good. My sauce turned out very runny, not sure if that is correct or not. But I would have preferred a thicker sauce. Boyfriend liked it as well. Probably won't be on heavy rotation, but I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States