Garam Masala Seared Salmon with Coconut-Curry Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
surprisingly easy and pretty good. i used lite coconut milk and a tablespoon less butter than the recipe called for, but otherwise followed the recipe completely. i wouldn't say it's what you'd get in an indian restaurant (not spicy enough) but certainly yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynHG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Really enjoyed this. I made it just as written, except that I doubled the coconut milk (as recommended by other reviewers) The only thing I might do differently next time is to quick sear the salmon on the stove top and then finish it off in the oven (just my preference)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
This was ok. This sauce wasn't my most favorite, but I enjoyed the Indian spices mingling with the salmon. I might try this again without the wine next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I made this dish a few months ago and found it expensive to make and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MimiAlea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Wow - this was divine. I've been using this website for 4 months now and this was easily the best recipe I've tried. I didn't change anything, it was delicious as is. When I served this to my boyfriend he said it looked truly gourmet and after he ate it he said it is one of the best dishes he's ever eaten (I've cooked hundreds of meals for him and he's never said that before). I served it with boiled new potatoes and sauteed green beans and poured the sauce over everything. Also the sauce seems versatile, I believe it could be used with other fishes and even chicken, pork or lamb. Thank you Ryan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This recipe reminded us of a dish that we used to get at our favorite Indian restaurant. I served with wild rice/peas from this site. Excellent just as written. Thanks for sharing, Ryan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
My whole family loved this! I served it over a bed of brown basmati rice to soak up the extra sauce. I also doubled the coconut milk as well. An excellent dish, truly restaurant quality...I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vicci
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I made this with Tilapia fish steaks, and used Organic Coconut milk. The dish was awesome and so flavorful. I felt I was in an Indian restaurant with all the nice aromas! My husband loved it. It was so much sauce we needed bread to sop it up! YUM!! :) Will definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tinton Falls, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Great recipe with lots of flavor. I followed the recipe and I used Thai Kitchen brand Premium coconut milk which maybe made the difference. Not sure what brand of coconut milk others used but the sauce I made had a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This was good. Pretty easy too. I cut down on the butter a little and it still worked. I cut the recipe in half and only used 3 TBS butter. I doubled the coconut milk though. I've been wanting to try this recipe for a while and I'm glad I finally did. Served with Matar Pulao (Rice with Peas) from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States