Gandule Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
My mom has made this all my life - having been married to a Puerto Rican man, she learned a few things. We always use green olives, and salt-pork. I think the flavor of the salt-pork is preferable to a shoulder. Salty, against the mild flavors of rice and the tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazmine Rivera

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Makawao, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This recipe was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Is a great recipe. The right amount of pork, just the way I like it. I have my own recipe of this rice and pigeon peas. The actual Spanish name for this is "Arroz Con Gandules. Now I don't know why so many people critize this recipe but the amountt of oil is right for this recipe. so Don't go changing anything if you never try this before, follow it, it will get you the flavor and consistency you really need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jody
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Yes and it's very good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Very very tasty -great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
My Favorite Gandule Rice ever!! I tried out this recipe and I am so happy with the results.... I will be cooking up this exact recipe for years to come!! Thanks B.Mason for sharing you've hit the spot with this one...Mahalo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
sounds good until I read black olives. We use alcaparrado not black olives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This recipe was great. When the Puerto Ricans immigrated to Hawaii, Green olives were very expensive and not commonly stocked on grocer's shelves. This is the reason the people in Hawaii still use black olives in Puerto Rican cooking today. It's a Hawaii thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This recipe is so delicious! To make even better, try this; instead of using pork shoulder use salt pork, and instead of black olives use green olives stuffed with jalapenos and garlic, and completely take out the achiote. Try this it is soo good everyone will be coming for seconds its a huge hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This was great! I am from Hawaii and while this is not an authentic Puerto Rican recipe, the people of Hawaii have adopted it and put their own twist on it. With that said, I love it with the black olives. For authentic ethnic recipes, one should go online and research them - there are many! One note is that I too used the goya sazon (never heard of them when I lived in Hawaii). It's a must-have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States