Gandule Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This recipe was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Is a great recipe. The right amount of pork, just the way I like it. I have my own recipe of this rice and pigeon peas. The actual Spanish name for this is "Arroz Con Gandules. Now I don't know why so many people critize this recipe but the amountt of oil is right for this recipe. so Don't go changing anything if you never try this before, follow it, it will get you the flavor and consistency you really need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jody
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Yes and it's very good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Very very tasty -great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
My Favorite Gandule Rice ever!! I tried out this recipe and I am so happy with the results.... I will be cooking up this exact recipe for years to come!! Thanks B.Mason for sharing you've hit the spot with this one...Mahalo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
sounds good until I read black olives. We use alcaparrado not black olives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This recipe was great. When the Puerto Ricans immigrated to Hawaii, Green olives were very expensive and not commonly stocked on grocer's shelves. This is the reason the people in Hawaii still use black olives in Puerto Rican cooking today. It's a Hawaii thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This recipe is so delicious! To make even better, try this; instead of using pork shoulder use salt pork, and instead of black olives use green olives stuffed with jalapenos and garlic, and completely take out the achiote. Try this it is soo good everyone will be coming for seconds its a huge hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This was great! I am from Hawaii and while this is not an authentic Puerto Rican recipe, the people of Hawaii have adopted it and put their own twist on it. With that said, I love it with the black olives. For authentic ethnic recipes, one should go online and research them - there are many! One note is that I too used the goya sazon (never heard of them when I lived in Hawaii). It's a must-have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Yum yum yum! It came out great....just like I remember it from a old family friend that moved here from Puerto Rico.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buchanan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States