Ganache II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Excellent flavor. I like to simplify the process by chopping the chocolate in my food processor until, then pour the hot cream down the feed tube and give it a whirl... in seconds you have wonderful ganache. Use this ganache warm as a pourable glaze, let it cool to room temp (over night) and use like a standard frosting, or chill until firm and whip with a heavy stand mixer until it's light in color and spreadable. You can even use this ganache to make authentic chocolate truffles - just roll the chilled ganache (unwhipped) into balls and coat with cocoa powder, chopped nuts, or whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
I made this ganache for some truffles I did for a friends b-day. I used dark chocolate and followed the recipe to a T with the only addition being a heavy dose of creme de menthe candy flavoring. I then put the ganache in the freezer until it was thick enough to roll into balls and refroze the balls so they were rock hard before dipping them in more dark chocolate to create a shell. I then melted a little green chocolate (available at Michael's stores) and drizzled it over the top. Absolutely Heavenly. Store in the refrigerator, incredibly rich and creamy with a nice mint flavor. To die for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPOILERDAVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I use this recipe professionally and it works, never fail every time. People love it! If I make one cake with this ganache, I am guaranted another 5 - 6 orders from customers who have tried it! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Even though it is not a "real" ganache... i.e. double boiler... It is still awesome. To use this recipe as a frosting, prepare the recipe as is usinga metal bowl, but after all the chocolate is melted, place the bowl in a bigger bowl with ice and water and slowly beat the same amount of Heavy cream you used earlier to the mixture then beat until stiff peaks form. Use ove chocolate... You will be amazed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I made this and poured it into a tart pan with a thick graham craker crust then topped with raspberries and served with fresh whipped cream. So pretty and good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I think if you like hops (which are bitter) you'll love this! I used good quality chocolate, but still found this recipe tongue-paralyzingly harsh (the sides of my tongue are still unhappy with me). I had double the amount of heavy cream and add 1c confectioner's sugar to make this palatable. When I usually make ganache, I use semi-sweet choc, so I guess I need to stick with that. It might be my own taste, but I really wish there had been some warning that this could be really in-your-face AND offensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Wahoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Wonderful, fast, and easy! This recipe makes a lot of ganache, so if you are making a layer cake, you can afford to be generous between the layers. I have made this twice and the crowd goes wild!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This was excellent and easy to make. I beat 1 cup confectioners' sugar into half the ganache to make it a little sweeter since I was using it to top a bittersweet chocolate cake. It was perfect, rich and glossy! This makes more than enough to top TWO cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This worked very well with my cake. I used semi-sweet and bitter-sweet (60%) for two different layers of the cake and was very pleased with both. I let it cool just moments before going nuts draining it into the layers. Raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg P..ski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arundel, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coco
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This was actually quite good. It has a richer and bittersweet flavor. It needs something to counter the bitter for some taste buds. We liked it though. I made a buttercream frosting to border the ganache which worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States