Ganache I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This ganache is simple (as ganache is) and amazing. I made this last weekend to use on a cake it almost did not make it to the cake it was so good. I recommend using ghirardelli chocolate (pakage marked 70% coco). I found this a little cheaper then some other options and it was amazing. I also recomend making extra this recipe covered two 9" round cakes and put a nice layer between but would have been nice to have a little more on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I didn't have enough heavy cream to double this, so I one & a halved it (used 3 cups heavy cream and 30oz. chocolate). I used Ghirardelli semi-sweet morsels, knowing that they might not melt as well as baking chocolate. I did have tiny lumps, so I put it through a sieve and it was fine. I let the cream come just to a boil and after it was mixed, I covered it and let it sit over night, to use as a filling and frosting for a chocolate lover's cake. The sad part is, it didn't thicken to the consistency of peanut butter, like I needed it to. Next time I'll use a recipe with a chocolate to cream ratio of 2:1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy B
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Yum, yum, yum!! My first time to make ganache and I'm hooked! I cut the recipe in half to frost 24 cupcakes. So good and doesn't taste too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Wonderful! I've made this several times and it always turns out beautiful and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Absolutely top shelf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead and the ganache turned out beautiful! It went perfect with the Black Magic Cake. A huge success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamad
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This worked out very well. I used 12oz of Ghirardelli semi-sweet morsels and 8oz Toll House semi-sweet morsels to get to the 1 1/4lb and it was very tasty. I used it to cover a cake and used the remainder mixed with whipped cream to decorate the cake. Also added 1tblsp of corn syrup to add a bit of gloss to the ganache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Made this today for my sons birthday cake... I was skeptical, but it turned out fantastic.. once it was cooled, I whipped it and it thickened perfectly.. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Perfect measurements! I took another reviewer's advice and put the chocolate in my food processor to chop then poured the heated cream into the processor while it was running. It was smooth and delicious with just the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This can't be this good - it was too easy to be this good! And I didn't even use a high quality chocolate, just Ghiradelli chocolate chips. (In all honesty, I didn't want to waste expensive chocolate to frost the zucchini cupcakes I made in case I didn't like them...) I made the ganache a couple of hours in advance of the cupcakes, stirring it every now and then. By the time the cupcakes were baked and cooled the ganache was just the right consistency to spread. Ganache is, of course, always chocolate and cream but I liked the ratio of cream to chocolate in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Ganache

See how to make rich homemade dark chocolate ganache.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Frost a Cake

See simple steps to frost a cake like a professional baker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States