Game Day Hamburgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Okay my husband just adout died over these hamburgers. I used Portabello mushrooms, bacon and monterey jack cheese for the filling. Per another viewer make small hamburgers and press the filling into the hamburger and place another patty on top and seal. In the meat mixture I used 1/3C. bread crumbs, 1 egg (egg beaters), 1 tsp. worchestshire sauce, 1 1/2 tsp. montreal steak seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Palestine, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
The taste of these burgers wee fantastic. However I found that the potatoes tasted uncooked. I would omit the potatoes in future. I made the kids filling first with no mushrooms and then the adults. Will surely make again. Without potatoes, I would rate it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
These are good without the potatoes. I added pepper. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
So good I couldn't believe it, I wish I'd found this recipe a long time ago. I grilled the burgers on the stove and bought pre-shredded potatoes and cooked them first. I also made really thin hamburger patties then put the filling on top of them, then placed another thin patty on top of that and sealed it up-way easier than making pockets. I'm sure you could stuff these with just about anything, but try the original first, it's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
The stuffing is a little more time consuming but it makes the patty big and juicy. I suggest preparing the stuffing after the patties are ready so the potatoes do not turn brown. Also, I did not add the mushrooms. Anyhow, the burgers were a big hit with our guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
These were tasty, but I felt the meat mixture was too sticky. I added 1 egg and 1/2 cp. breadcrumbs so the patties would be easier to form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
Made them today for the first time. I needed a new burger recipe thats quick and easy and this is for sure both! My family loved them. I didn't add the potato and did a Mozza/Cheddar mix for the cheese. This will definitely replace my every day burger recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
These burgers are a great alternative to the same old, same old burgers I always have. I bought a bag of pre-shredded hash brown potatos and fried them up before stuffing the burgers so I wouldn't have to worry about the potato cooking all the way through, it also added that yummy fried potato flavor! I've made these with lots of different variations for fillings but my favorite is potato, cheddar and crumbled bacon. My boyfriend's favorite is the original potato/mushroom/swiss. Any fillings work well for this burger so get creative! I gave my sister this recipe and she makes hers with cream cheese, avacado and sundried tomatoes, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WANDA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
Delicious! I didn't use the potatoes, but other than that made no changes. It had a lot of good flavor even with no bun or condiments. We will serve these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
These were GREAT! I omitted the potatoes and used portabella mushrooms and mozzarella. My husbands said they were the best he had ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Legendary Stuffed Hamburgers

These big beefy burgers have a savory bacon surprise in the center.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Cream Cheese Jalapeno Hamburgers

Delicious hamburgers with a cheesy, spicy surprise in the center.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States