Game Day Hamburgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I halved the onion soup mix and the burgers were still great. My only complaint is that I didn't get as much flavour as I'd like from the potato and mushrooms so I'll try frying them up first next time. Also, as suggested by others, sandwiching the mix between 2 thin patties is far easier than making a pocket. Can't wait to try this recipe with other fillings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
My only complaint is that they're a little too salty with all the onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
one of the best burgers i've made. the guys LOVED it. i thought the potatoes were starchy, but enjoyed the added texture! will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Might want try pork to. Is one of the best burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. I did everything exactly as the recipe said, but for some reason, the potatoes and hamburger were not cooked, even after 15 minutes on each side. I made the 6 large hamburgers out of 2 lbs of meat, so they couldn't have been too big, I don't think. Anyway, will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Very good. Nice change from the same old burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
My family really liked this recipe & it was pretty easy to prepare, but quite messy! We don't eat mushrooms, so I subbed in shredded carrots & used colby/jack cheese instead of swiss. Did them on the stove top on my cast-iron grill pan - very good! Also did what others suggested & made 2 thin patties, placed filling between & sealed. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlysoxfan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I made these tonight for my fiance and he said they were the best home made hamburgers he had ever had! He loves mushrooms and the onion mix topped it off! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This recipe has a great foundation, but as some other "reviewers" had said, it needs work. I substituted the actual potatoe for a 1/2 can of white potatoes and cut those into slivers. I did not use the onion soup mix, as I think it would be a little too much and have way too much going on. I think you can use any kind of cheese for these, but I think swiss or mozzerella added a great touch! I added 1 egg, and breadcrumbs to the mixture as well. Finally, I seasoned it with pepper, salt and some hamburger seasoning to finish it off. I mixed it together, rather than "stuffing" it. It was great, and is ALWAYS a hit whenever I make them for whoever. People who didn't enjoy mushrooms LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Campisi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
this is also very good with red/green bell peppers and use provolone instead of swiss
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: South Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Legendary Stuffed Hamburgers

These big beefy burgers have a savory bacon surprise in the center.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Cream Cheese Jalapeno Hamburgers

Delicious hamburgers with a cheesy, spicy surprise in the center.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States